Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: question on stand height  (Read 1970 times)

Offline bobsmith19

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Regular
    • Live from Atlanta
question on stand height
« on: September 18, 2008, 09:39:42 PM »
hi, i'm still pretty new at stand taping and was wondering if i could get some opinions on stand height. 

my mics are cards (DIN), my stand can go to about 8ft tall and i have an extension for it that is maybe 1.5ft.  i tape mostly in noisy (chatty) clubs/bars with questionable acoustics.

how high should you run your mics? 

is there too high, or too low? 

should you not get too close to the ceiling?  i wonder about how it affects the sound the closer you get.

how far up above the crowd is high enough to get over the talking? 

does PA stack/speaker location affect stand height?  if the stack is hanging from the ceiling, or sitting on stage, should you raise or lower? 

i wonder about how it sounds up above where the mics are compared to what your ears are hearing at head height.  maybe there's a sweet spot that's above the noise, but not too far up where the sound is different? 

anyway, just looking for opinions and advice.  thanks, bob.
Milab VM-44 Link > SX-M2 > PMD661 OCM
Nevaton MCE 400 > PS1 > PMD661 OWM
AT853 (80s model) > PMD620 OWM

Offline travelinbeat

• Trade Count: (14)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Turning soundwaves into zeros and ones since 1999
    • http://db.etree.org/travelinbeat
Re: question on stand height
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2008, 04:39:19 AM »