Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Why a preamp?  (Read 6082 times)

Offline nangillala

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Why a preamp?
« on: August 11, 2010, 09:34:07 AM »
Hi,
I'm a total noob regarding mobile recording, but have a bit of knowledge when it comes to "regular recording" (homestudio band recording).

I want to buy a Sony PCM M10 and am looking for some nice, small Mics to complement it.
The purpose will be stealth recording on concerts. I have some friends in bands which I want to tape, but don't want all the people to ask something when they see the mics,... you know this. It is mainly Rock, Alternative, Indie, so pretty loud shows in venues of about 500 people.

I think I want to spend around 150$ (I'm from Germany, so roughly 120€) on Mics and the Church Mics seem to be very popular here, plus I heard some very good recordings with those. What I don't understand: Why would I need a (Church e.g.) preamp when the Sony has the Mic-In. I would understand it if the voltage was too low or something, but it seems to work (regarding to some posts here) without the pre. On the other hand it does not seem to be a question of sound solely (like: what is better? A Neve or a SSL pre?).

I read the guides, beginners section, etc. but can't find any info on this.

Offline page

• Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • #TeamRetired
Re: Why a preamp?
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2010, 09:53:08 AM »
In regards to the Chuch mics and M10 specifically. While Chris Church's mics do work on standard PIP, they function better when they are fed close to 9v. Many handheld units don't send 9v as Plug In Power (or really even close to it). Second, some handheld units (but smaller then the former pool) introduce noise when using the mic-in gain, so an outboard pre-amp is favorable in that instance. All of this is subject to the laws of deminishing returns, but they are reasons that folks choose that route.