Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: a lil prob (post recording)  (Read 2567 times)

Offline kabubbies

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
a lil prob (post recording)
« on: January 12, 2005, 12:56:46 PM »
ok so im new to the whole tapin thing

one of my buddies got a sbd recording for a recent show at the 930 club in DC, (kenin if your interested, legit with band and venue)

at anyrate the recording came out ok, but there is a loud annoying crackle through out the entire show 

im trying to get rid of it, I have sony sound forge 7.0 but not sure exactly what i wnat to do at this point 

if anyone has any experience in trying to help get rid or at least turn down the crackle it would be great

if you help, i will gladly send the new promo pack for kenin, i have a few of em

here is a sample file http://s14.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=...36B97E5FA472865

some questions that have been asked at other fourms where i was seeking help

what type of cables?
> line out (phone)

preamp and or a/d converter involved?
> No

what device (minidisnc, jb3, dat) was used to capture the recording?
> Laptop

so at anyrate, if you can help either post back or email me,

thanks yall 

keith
kabubbies@comcast.net
db.etree.org/kabubbies

cleantone

Re: a lil prob (post recording)
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2005, 01:21:12 PM »
That link doesn't work. I'd have to hear it to guess the cause. Could be dirty pots on the console, couls be overloading. If it's happening during the music performance there probably isn't too much you can do to get rid of it. Again I'd have to hear it to know for sure.

Offline Craig T

• Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • LMA
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2005, 01:24:01 PM »
are the "crackles" really on the recording, or is it just from playing back the files from your computer?  can you see them with a wav editor?

What input device (soundcard, etc) did you use with the laptop?  Recording software?