Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Expected level from a battery box?  (Read 1867 times)

Offline tms

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
Expected level from a battery box?
« on: January 19, 2005, 12:14:47 PM »
Hi,

I'm a newbie taper using a stereo gooseneck mic and SP-SPSB-1 both from Sound Professionals.  Last year my recorder was a portable SONY MD player with a Line-in connection.  At two outdoor concerts and one indoor Bela Fleck show the manual recording level on the MD recorder needs to be set almost at its maximum setting, +30dB to get 3 or 4 bars out of 5 on the level meter.  Does this seem right?  Doesn't that mean the signal from the battery box is tiny, like 0.001 V peak to peak ?

I just got a JB3 and would like to use the same mic and battery box but the JB3 only goes up to +12 dB. 

Seems like digitally amplifying a tiny signal is a bad idea.  Is something wrong with the battery box?

Thanks for any help.

Todd
Buffalo, NY
"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy" - Ben Franklin

SP-CMC-4 (AT853) > SP battery box > Edirol R-09

Offline jk labs

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • Straight wire!
    • Mics, pre and ADC...
Re: Expected level from a battery box?
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2005, 11:08:22 AM »
Hi,

I'm a newbie taper using a stereo gooseneck mic and SP-SPSB-1 both from Sound Professionals.  Last year my recorder was a portable SONY MD player with a Line-in connection.  At two outdoor concerts and one indoor Bela Fleck show the manual recording level on the MD recorder needs to be set almost at its maximum setting, +30dB to get 3 or 4 bars out of 5 on the level meter.  Does this seem right?  Doesn't that mean the signal from the battery box is tiny, like 0.001 V peak to peak ?

I just got a JB3 and would like to use the same mic and battery box but the JB3 only goes up to +12 dB.