Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: windscreen / rycote  (Read 2642 times)

Offline todoke

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
windscreen / rycote
« on: January 05, 2011, 12:55:31 PM »
Hello Tapers,

I'm rather new to field recording and currently just have a Zoom H-1.
I was outside today and again I've had problems with wind.
Wind wasn't very strong, just enough to move the thin branches of trees a bit.

My windscreen is a DIY one made out of fake fur. It's covering everything and seals ok.
There's a big difference between it being attached or not, but it's still not shielding enough.

What's so special about the rycote system? is it the zeppelin shape or is there a special membrane and then only around everything comes the "fur"?
I wonder why my fur is so insufficient.

thanks for your suggestions!

Offline Gutbucket

• record > listen > revise technique
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • "Better to love music than respect it" ~Stravinsky
Re: windscreen / rycote
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2011, 03:01:25 PM »
Trapped airspace is what is important.  Foam can do that as the thickness of the cellular structure itself traps air.  In a zepplin it's the airspace between the outer covering and the mic element, the shape isn't that important- it's is simply designed to fit the typical mic shape.
musical volition > vibrations > voltages > numeric values > voltages > vibrations> virtual teleportation time-machine experience
Better recording made easy - >>Improved PAS table<< | Made excellent- >>click here to download the Oddball Microphone Technique illustrated PDF booklet<< (note: This is a 1st draft, now several years old and in need of revision!  Stay tuned)

Offline Shadow_7

• Taperssection Member
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2011, 02:59:28 AM »