Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: help choosing cheap mic pre-amp  (Read 4552 times)

Offline jaym1818

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
help choosing cheap mic pre-amp
« on: January 19, 2019, 04:35:32 PM »
Hello everyone, I did alot of taping in the late 90's early 00 and now that the kids are older i'm starting to get out to shows more often. I loved my octava mc012's that i sold after not using for a while, thinking of buying them again, sound great to me. I used a art dual mp back in the day. I'd like to find a portable pre-amp that I can run to either my tascam dr-07 or dr-05v2. I have very little knowledge of pre-amps and very little money to purchase one. Right now I have a set of csb mics with battery box that I run direct to my dr-07, but i've only done one show with them so far and I was fairly pleased, i know results can vary by room but listening to some shows i recorded with the octavas i really kinda want them again. Thanks for any tips, ideas and guidance.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2019, 04:56:46 PM by jaym1818 »

Offline Hypnocracy

• Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (46)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Hypnocratic Missionary
    • Hypno on teh LMA
Re: help choosing cheap mic pre-amp
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2019, 12:49:43 PM »
The Sound Design MP-2/Shure FP-24 is a great preamp that can be had for under $300 in the Yard Sale...just be aware they need attenuation pads (12-18db)...They run a bit hot...you can run from the Mini TRS out...if you want the sound of the lundal transformers I guess you would have to get attenuation for output XLR's to a handheld input too.

Cheaper...I'd consider just picking up a two channel all in one with XLR and Phantom power inputs built in first...Tascam DR-60DmkII used are cheap.

This must be heaven -- 'cause here's where the rainbow ends
If this ain't the real thing, then it's close enough to pretend

Offline DSatz

• Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (35)