Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: 4.7 Mod Question  (Read 2758 times)

obsidian

• Trade Count: (0)
4.7 Mod Question
« on: May 14, 2018, 12:43:28 PM »
I have used the "search" feature and I couldn't find the answer (I may have overlooked it), so I apologize for starting another topic/thread ...

My Son and I are attempting to make some very amature mics, one of those Father & Son projects, and I have stumbled across some diagrams to add the 4.7k but all I see are for 3 wire mics. Is this possible for a 2 wire mic? If not the 4.7, is there an alternative for a 2-wire mic?  Lastly, where do I find the little resistors and is their one brand any better than the other?

Offline beatkilla

• Trade Count: (70)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: 4.7 Mod Question
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2018, 02:55:16 PM »
While i am no expert i'm pretty sure it is for 3 wire mics only.

Offline kuba e

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2018, 04:21:19 PM »
4.7k mod is for 3-wire mics for sure. What capsule do you want to use? I don't know alternative for 2-wire mics except modifying inner electronics inside capsule.  There is possibility to modify 2-wire capsule to 3-wire too (e.g. chopped Naks, Panasonic WM-61A). But you need good soldering skills. See https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dSPQf42JgbI.

If you use 2-wire capsule, power it with maximal designed voltage. Microphone's maximal SPL stated in datasheet is valid only with maximal designed power. If you use lower voltage, the maximal SPL is lower too.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2018, 04:23:15 PM by kuba e »

obsidian

« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2018, 04:56:21 PM »
These are the caps I intended to use. They do offer a 3-wire version, but I wasn't sure how hard that would be. Like I mentioned, this is just a project for me and my Son. We want it to be successful but not put a ton of money into it "to learn".  Is wiring a 3-wire caps much harder than a 2-wire?