Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Preamp? Do I need one of those?  (Read 6907 times)

Offline bogusjack

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Preamp? Do I need one of those?
« on: November 07, 2011, 09:52:05 AM »
Hello Everyone:  I'm new to this board and boy I am glad I found you.  I am a beginner so please, any help would be appreciated.  My current setup is SP-CMC-8 cards >SP-BB>PMD620 running line in or at times I use Oade Micro Mics (binaural) >SP-BB>PMD620 running line in.  I typically go to rock concerts, Roger Waters, Springsteen, Mellencamp, & Seger are just a few that I've been to lately.  As you can see based on those artists, you must record in stealth mode.

My questions are:  What is the benefit of a preamp?  I've taped shows, come home, run them through audacity and they sound great to me.  If I should get a preamp, would the CA-Ugly work with the mics and rig I have?

Also, I noticed when I use the Oade Micro Mics that the sound is a bit more on the bass.  The CMC-8 are a little more on the treble.  When I run them through audacity I usually adjust the equalization according to each one.  If I use the Micro Mics, I raise the treble a bit.  If I use the CMC-8, then I raise the bass a bit.  Very little adjustment is needed.

Would there be any benefit in getting the CA-14 or the CA-11 mics instead of my current setup?  It seems that are very popular in this forum. 

One other thing, it appears that the best way to discuss stealth ideas is through pm.  Would some of you give me some ideas?

Thanks!

Bogus Jack

Offline acidjack

• Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (37)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Preamp? Do I need one of those?
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2011, 10:43:21 AM »
The short answer to your question re: preamp is no.  They're mainly useful for adding gain at quieter shows.  The PMD620 has good internal preamps and you are not likely to see much difference stealthing loud shows.