Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: What the? Strange Waveform?  (Read 9063 times)

Offline BayTaynt3d

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • Live from San Francisco
    • BayTaper.com
What the? Strange Waveform?
« on: March 09, 2006, 02:30:40 AM »
Alright, maybe I'm just a newb, but I've got about 20 taping sessions under my belt at this point, and I have yet to come across this. It was my first night out with my new CK91 caps, but I'm guessing this didn't have anything to do with the caps? Most of the night looks/sounds fine, but the attached pic shows a stretch where the waveform is shifted up and clipping only on the top. WTF? Is that what phase shifting looks like? I was running XY indoors and had the caps were very much on top of each other, so I didn't think phase would be a problem. Or is this something else? At one point, I thought the caps might have been touching each other (no windscreens), but I wasn't sure. There is no obvious vibration sounds or anything like that, so I'm not sure they were touching at all. Could someone please explain what the hell happened because I'm confused? Operator error? New caps? Weird acoustics in the venue? Corrupt file?
« Last Edit: March 09, 2006, 11:21:13 AM by Tainted »
BayTaper.com | One Man’s Multimedia Journey Through the San Francisco Jazz & Creative Music Scene

Offline anodyne33

• You'll have that
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • All my life there's been the magnets.
    • Lucky
Re: What the? Strange Waveform?
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2006, 11:56:03 AM »
preamp issue. one side of the waveform +v (i'd suppose) got more voltage (or possibly less) than the other for some reason at that passage
Pockets full of nickels and nothing left to eat, and I'm stuck behind a semi on Soniat Street.

Offline BayTaynt3d

• Taperssection All-Star
    • BayTaper.com
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2006, 12:27:45 PM »