Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Mixing a Live Show via Audacity - Room mics only?  (Read 4558 times)

Offline HarpNinjaMike

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
    • My Webpage
Mixing a Live Show via Audacity - Room mics only?
« on: November 15, 2010, 09:44:12 AM »
I have a recording of a live band that used the internal mics of the recorder (Zoom H4n).  For those of you recording shows, what is some advice for "mixing" the show when all you have is the room recording and not separate tracks?

Specifically:

I am totally new to this whole recording thing. I recorded a live show of my band (vocals, harmonica, guitar, bass, and drums) using a Zoom H4n in stereo (internal mics). I would like to use pieces of it for a demo of the covers we do. Right now, I am trying to mix with Audacity.

I was under the impression that that stereo mics would give me two separate tracks to work with, but what I have is one stereo track. I am looking for help/plug ins/eq settings to try and accomplish the following:

1. The bass and bass drum might be "ok" in the mix, but I'd like a little more if possible.

2. The guitar is very low in the mix (biggest issue)...I had one internal mic aimed pretty much right at it and was hoping to isolate that track and make it louder, but I am looking for a relatively easy to do fix.

3. I'd like to add a very subtle reverb to the overall mix - especially for the vocals. I briefly tried the included verb and found it difficult to use. I might just use the "Echo".

Really, if I can use any effects/plugins to try and balance the mix a little better, I'd be golden for this.  I added a tiny bit of compression, but the vocals and drum kit are pretty high in the mix compared to the bass, bass drum, and guitar.  In hindsight, I had the recorder too close to the PA mains (hence the mix issue).

Thanks!
« Last Edit: November 15, 2010, 10:16:46 AM by HarpNinjaMike »
Mike

Offline page

• Trade Count: (25)