Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Completed my setup - deemed worthy?  (Read 6167 times)

jsimpson

• Trade Count: (0)
Completed my setup - deemed worthy?
« on: January 18, 2007, 11:07:02 AM »
Being a poor college student I can't technically afford an R-09 or H120, but I do have an iPod! Haha.

I bought the Belkin TuneTalk and some Binaural Mics from TheSoundProfessionals and an external USB power supply from APC. Haven't used it yet, my first chance will be next week at a local band show. But my main wonder is, is this a good setup for what I've got so far?

I'm mainly, well, ONLY, going to record loud concerts so I gotta know if what I have can withstand what I need. Either way, I'll find out within the end of next week, just wondering if you dudes approve.

Thanks,
Jsimpson

Update: 4-30-07

Sample:

This sample was taken when I FIRST got the setup done. It was my first recording so it came out pretty bad, but the mics I had weren't using bass roloff and I have done no post-prod. I was on a balcony about 30 feet from the stage so semi-quiet. I still think it turned out nicely.

PS- Autogain was on, I forgot to turn it off. Apparently it's better for loud situations when it's off.

Download link:
5.5 MB (.MP3 format)
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=UX2IGMV4
« Last Edit: April 30, 2007, 11:22:01 AM by jsimpson »

Offline Brian Skalinder

• Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Completed my setup - deemed worthy?
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2007, 11:09:15 AM »
Doesn't matter what anyone else here thinks of your gear - what matters is what you think of your gear, and whether it suits your purposes / budget.  Try a search for Belkin, there've been a couple discussions about the Belkin product, and if I recall the results were mixed.
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline Church-Audio

• Trade Count: (44)
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2007, 11:42:33 AM »