Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: help w/ echo in recording... sample inside  (Read 3626 times)

Offline andiunfold

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Newbie
help w/ echo in recording... sample inside
« on: September 19, 2007, 11:14:33 PM »
Can anyone give me a little help with fixing a recording? We taped a show from the front row in a pretty empty college arena and there's a huge echo, among other things. Obviously I'm new to taping and could use some advice on how to fix this in any way. I'm using WaveLab 5.01 if anyone could help that'd be awesome!!
Thanks!

.... there's also a TON of shrieking throughout most of the tracks... is there anyway to cut back on that?

here's a sample track:
http://www.mediafire.com/?a1sm1q7gs9m

Offline andiunfold

• Taperssection Newbie
Re: help w/ echo in recording... sample inside
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2007, 01:02:38 PM »
i know im completely impatient, but... anyone?

:-\

easy jim

• Trade Count: (0)
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2007, 04:07:30 PM »
There's nothing that can be done to fix an echo IMO that is captured by room mics, and there is also not much that can be done with respect to proximate shrieking. 

If the shrieking is louder than the loudest peaks of the music, you could try a little compression, or a limiter, in post; all that would do, however, is reduce it a little bit relative to the rest of the music.  Screaming/shrieking from a human voice crosses over too many frequencies also corresponding to the instruments, so you cannot really EQ it without also negatively affecting everything else.

Offline Dede2002

• Taperssection All-Star
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2007, 02:03:29 PM »

Andiunfold,

Just sent you an e-mail ;D
Mics..........................SP-CMC-8, HLSC-1 and HLSO-MICRO
BB and Preamps........MM Micro bb / MM Custom Elite bb / Church 9100

Recorders...................Tascam DR-100MKIII, Marantz PMD 620 MKII, Edirol R-09

Offline andiunfold