Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Can Someone Fix a VRbox?  (Read 3179 times)

Offline Gr8ful98

• Swamp Funk Junkie
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • Harps & Drums
Can Someone Fix a VRbox?
« on: October 23, 2008, 02:08:26 PM »
Here's what I'm looking for, and since I'm not good with soldering, or do it yourself stuff, I figured I'd ask y'all...a VR box to power both UA5 and JB3 simultaneously.  I know the ole UA5>JB3 combo is a dinosaur now & most folks have an "all in one" box. But....here's what I'm looking for:  ???

Primary power from a "Wally World" Batt is 9V, but a JB3 runs on 5V. If you went directly in with 9V, you'd fry the JB3. Thats where the VR box comes in. The VR is for "voltage regulator", which regulates the 9V down to 5V for the JB3. The other plug passes the voltage straight through, at whatever voltage the battery is. In this case, 9V, which is what the UA-5 takes. So to recap, it gives two output plugs, one regulated down to 5v (for the jb3) and the other at whatever input the battery is giving it (9v for the UA-5)

Could it have 2 inputs for the 9v battery...that way if I need to swap batteries I don't hafta power down everything. ;D

Any of y'all DIY guys out there willing to help me out?  What would something like that cost?
It would be a great asset for going to festivals & such, I'm willing to pay for materials/labor & would be hella-grateful for such a device.

Thanks... 8)
« Last Edit: November 07, 2008, 01:25:40 PM by Gr8ful98 »
Namaste,
John Dude

AKG 481's>HYDRA Silver XLR's>Dmod UA5>JB3
Hat>OadeBros Micro Binaural>9vBattBox>JB3

<<<<iso CK62/63's>>>>

Offline willndmb

• Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Can Someone Build a Custom VR box?
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2008, 01:18:31 PM »
what do you need power consumption for a vr box?

with my box i ran 4 different devices
as long as you had the correct cable you were golden