Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Which recorder??  (Read 3403 times)

Offline emil077c

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Which recorder??
« on: September 20, 2011, 11:38:10 AM »
Hi!

My name is Emil and I'm from Denmark. I'm a total newbie into this and I only got my interest because I attend a lot of concerts and hear a lot of bootlegs. Therefore, I decided to start recording the concerts I attend by myself - it could be nice to recall memories. And I've been searching a lot on the Internet and I have found some different recorders: Zoom H4n and Roland R-09HR. Which one of those do you think is the best?

My question is:
What recorder do you think is the best for recording at very loud volumes at concerts, and has the best quality??

I'm open to consider any recorder so don't hesitate to come up with suggestions :)

I have a budget on around $450.

Thank you very much in advance,
Emil

Offline Fried Chicken Boy

• Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Which recorder??
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2011, 01:48:55 PM »
Hi, Emil, and welcome to the Taperssection! ;D

The folks on this board have a lot of opinions so you're bound to get different answers as to what recorder is the "best".  Given the choice between the two you listed, Zoom H4n and Roland R-09HR, I believe the Roland is a higher quality machine and would personally buy that one.  That said, the Sony PCM-M10 also has a great track record and is much loved by quite a few tapers and with good reason.  It's my understanding that the Sony is considerably more expensive than similar decks in Europe which has made people take a look at the Roland R-05; also good and made by the same company as the R-09HR.

Are you planning on using the built-in microphones on the recorder or will you purchase external mics to use with it?

Offline it-goes-to-eleven

• Trade Count: (58)
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2011, 02:12:59 PM »