Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Recording from a SBD -- First Time -- Suggestions??  (Read 2596 times)

Offline stimuland

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Recording from a SBD -- First Time -- Suggestions??
« on: June 29, 2008, 04:06:53 PM »
I'm fairly new to taping and am about to record from a SBD for the very first time... I am wondering, what cables or other equipment should I bring with me?  I will be using my handy Zoom H2 to record the show.  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks!

Offline crackmc

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • nein dispatch says zer is problem mit deine kable
Re: Recording from a SBD -- First Time -- Suggestions??
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2008, 09:41:14 PM »
hmmm...

cables: XLR's are usually enough, but sometimes the only option is a pair of 1/4" TRS mono outs. i've never had to deal with the problem of converting from TRS > XLR (since my deck has both types of inputs), but you may want to prepare for that if you can. i've also dealt with soundguys that are only willing to give a 1/4" headphone jack out, as well as a stereo RCA (red+white) out. chances are, the XLRs will be all you need - but it all depends on how accommodating the sound guy is, as well as what type of the board he's using

other than the cables, you don't need any other hardware. just make sure you don't send phantom power to the board, and set your levels low - sometimes the board can come in REALLY hot...it's much easier to boost the volume in post than it is to remove clipping/brickwalling.
you'll love it
it's a way of life

Offline Belexes

• Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2008, 07:34:13 AM »
Balanced Female XLR Stereo cable > mini

I bring a nice long extension cable so I can be out of the sound engineer's hair once I have my patch.
Busman Audio BSC1-K1/K2/K3/K4 > HiHo Silver XLR's > Deck TBD