Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: What cables should I bring?  (Read 3508 times)

Offline Jerry Gash

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
What cables should I bring?
« on: July 30, 2009, 06:49:14 PM »
Hey guys, I'm pretty new to the taping scene and have a couple questions.  I have a couple HD video camera and have been filming bands.  For audio I have been using a Rode SVM and when possible I use my laptop along with a Line 6 Toneport into Adobe Audiotion to pull audio from the board.  I recently purchased a Zoom H4n and it either excepts 1/4" in's or XLR.  Most of the time when I film bands they usually have smaller boards and have RCA out.  The last band I filmed had a huge PA setup and all it had was XLR out, that sucked cause I had to speed over to a buddies house to get cables and barely made it back in time.

My question is, what do you gus bring for cables that do SBD recordings?  I would think some decent RCA's with 1/4" adapters would be a must, as well as some XLR cables just in case theres no RCA out.

I am going to be popping the cherry on my H4N at YMSB in a few weeks, I am hoping to get a feed from the board and be able to have the H4n above the SBD to pull audio from the on board mics as well, prolly gonna need 20' cables to be safe.

Any suggestions?

(2) Canon HV20, Jag35Pro, Shrigg Rig, Rode SVM, Rode VM, Zoom H4N, Bogen 3052, Bogen 701HDV Head

Offline Jerry Gash

• Taperssection Regular
Re: What cables should I bring?
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2009, 07:13:32 PM »
A little searching goes a long way.

http://taperssection.com/index.php/topic,14253.0.html

Think I answered my own questions....
(2) Canon HV20, Jag35Pro, Shrigg Rig, Rode SVM, Rode VM, Zoom H4N, Bogen 3052, Bogen 701HDV Head

Offline flipp

• resident curmudgeon
  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2009, 09:20:09 PM »