Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: level help with DR2D  (Read 2325 times)

Offline zupanic

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
level help with DR2D
« on: March 12, 2011, 01:16:45 PM »
First off, here is my setup...
Church Audio CA-11 mics > SP-SPSB-8 battery module > Tascam DR-2D (line input)

I am new to digital recorders and I'm having trouble with the levels when testing this rig out. I followed the instruction manual with the Tascam. Monitor levels are up around 98. REC levels around 98. Gain set to MID. Tested it on a loud stereo moments ago and the levels looked good on the Tascam but when I play back on the computer using WinAmp, I can hear it, but it is quiet and levels on the meter are nonexistant. I don't feel I should have to set levels around 98 because the sound I'm recording (my stereo) seems at least close to the volume of a live concert and my wife is giving me dirty looks.
If any experienced DR-2D users could tell me where they generally have the above mentioned levels and/or gain set (for say concerts like Widespread Panic / Phish / etc) I would really appreciate it.

Thanks from a newbie...
Doug

Offline zupanic

• Taperssection Regular
Re: level help with DR2D
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2011, 02:01:57 PM »
all is well when using the "mic in" input, but I was under the impression that the SP battery module would allow me to use "line in" for loud sounds.  Perhaps a SLAYER show if I was positioned right in front of a stack with the levels cranked.  Guess I'm gonna have to mess up a recording or two before I'm happy with it.

Would still love to hear from someone experienced with a rig similar to mine as to where to set the gain and monitor levels with mic-in vs line-in.

Offline Will_S

• Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2011, 03:20:08 PM »