Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Upgrade from inbuilt camcorder mic?  (Read 3708 times)

Offline dan355

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Upgrade from inbuilt camcorder mic?
« on: August 16, 2006, 06:22:13 PM »
Hi im a bit of a novice, please forgive my almost total ignorance!

I have a Sony Mini DV handy cam, a DCR HC14E, I taped a small, loud club show with it the other night and the picture is great but the sound is pretty bad. That is the kind of show Im gonna be using it for. The sound was pretty distorted and sounded like it was topping out or peaking or something especially on the vocals. Im on a pretty tight budget so I was just wondering what would be a good way to improve the sound, would getting an external mic give better results? I had my eye on the Sony ECM719 or the 717 if I can get one. Would that help my cause for the moment untill I could afford some better equipment?
Thanks,
-Dan

Offline BayTaynt3d

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • Live from San Francisco
    • BayTaper.com
Re: Upgrade from inbuilt camcorder mic?
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2006, 08:09:56 PM »
Does it have a mini-jack input for audio? Or XLR? Or nothing?

Can you manually control the audio levels or not?

Hopefully, you have minijack input for audio, in which case you can use an external mic terminated to mini, if you don't, you are screwed.

Hopefully you have manual control of the audio levels, if you do, then turn off AGC (auto gain control) and use manual levels (and turn DOWN the levels so you aren't clipping), if you don't you are screwed.