Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Trying to upload to archive.org and finding it overwhelming  (Read 4129 times)

Offline jackstraw2679

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Trying to upload to archive.org and finding it overwhelming
« on: October 05, 2017, 12:14:05 AM »
I've been taping for a few years but have never uploaded anything to internet archive. I have files that I've split into tracks using Cd wave and I want to get them up to share. What is the specific workflow that I should use. I've primarily been using Audacity so I would like to keep that in the process. what I'm doing at this point is going from SD>audacity>Cd wave> hard drive file. I've shared a few with Dropbox but would like to share them to a wider crowd. Any help would be appreciated, Thanks.

Offline rocksuitcase

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • RockSuitcase: stage photography
Re: Trying to upload to archive.org and finding it overwhelming
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2017, 12:48:47 AM »
I used to be intimidated by it and am now relatively comfortable with it. I'm sure some others have better advice, BUT, I use Audacity and cdwav so I'll give you my abbreviated work flow: (You need TLH also)

Audacity: edit, fades, levels, EQ     I end up with a file titled bandnameyyymmdd-bitmicinfo_finaledit        My mentor says name it bandnameyyymmdd-bitmicinfodxt
in cdwav: I cut it into tracks, save them into a folder titled bandnameyyymmdd-bitmicinfo wavs   I also save the cue sheet (typically my filesets are 24/48)
Using Traders Little Helper: convert the 24 bit wavs to 24 bit flacs level 8; creating an ffp file saved into a folder named bandnameyyymmdd-bitmicinfo flacs  ( I then do the same for 24 bit mp3-but NOT required for LMA uploads)

Then I go back to the final edit in Audacity; convert that to 44100, save as 16 bit signed wav titled bandnameyyymmdd-16micinfo_finaledit into a folder titled bandnameyyymmdd-16 wavs