Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Oktava mc012 + Denecke PS2  (Read 3684 times)

Offline tchoub

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
Oktava mc012 + Denecke PS2
« on: December 07, 2003, 05:00:22 PM »
Hi,
 I have decided to buy a pair of Oktava mc012 after hearing nice recordings made with those mics (especially one of a band called Mogwaï with this rig :  Oktava MC 012 (hyper-cardioid) > Denecke PS-2 > Marantz PMD670)

From what I have read, the Oktava mc012 are nice mics ... but I'm still a newbie at taping so I need some help !

- Will I have to buy a matched pair of mc012 ? Is the difference between 2 random cm012 really important ?  
        - Would you recommended getting the 3 capsules version or the single capsule version ?
        - I would like to make allowed recordings with a stand but also stealth recordings. Can the cm012 be used in "stealth mode" ? Any advice on this point ?
       - What 48V phantom powering system would you recommend ?
The Denecke PS-2 seems to have XLR outs. The sound professionals website offers a modified version with a minijack output. Has anyone tried this one ?
I would prefer having a minijack output in order to connect it directly to my MD or my D8.
      - What kind of cables will I need to connect the different parts ? (Oktava's > PS2 > MD or D8)

I'm sorry if some of those questions sound dumb but I'm slowly getting into taping ...
I hope some of you will help me !

Thanks !

jpschust

Re:Oktava mc012 + Denecke PS2
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2003, 05:16:23 PM »
ok a lot of different things on this

Will I have to buy a matched pair of mc012 ? Is the difference between 2 random cm012 really important ?  

Well really, no.  The thing is, however if you buy a matched pair you are garunteed that they won't be as far off in db.  So when you run your ps-2 with an unmatched pair you might have to run one in a touch hotter than the other so that you can be getting equal levels from each mic.