Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Just bought an Edirol R09HR. What else do I need?  (Read 2622 times)

Offline vissidarte27

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Just bought an Edirol R09HR. What else do I need?
« on: March 02, 2009, 02:30:49 PM »
Hi folks.

I've done some searching and haven't really found what I'm looking for (although that could certainly be my fault, as I'm not familiar with this format just yet), so I thought I would post here and ask my questions. If this is an inappropriate place, my apologies and mods, feel free to move it.

I am a student in a music conservatory- classical music- and I've recently purchased an Edirol for my own personal use. I noticed, however, that nobody at my institution tapes recitals and that students have to find their own ways to record. I think I could make some decent money if I was able to rig up something with my Edirol that would make a high enough quality recording to satisfy the student/client. I know I'll need external microphones and probably a preamp, but other than that, I'm pretty lost. My questions for you are as follows:

What external mics are compatible with the R09HR? I'm specifically looking for something that can be placed at the foot of the stage, and maybe another that can be hooked up near the piano.

What other equiptment would I need to get an adequate recording?

Can you recommend any post production software that is particularly user friendly?

I'm looking for the simplest set up possible that will still yield results. I want to make sure that I'm putting out something that it worth charging for.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Offline cybergaloot

• Trade Count: (7)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Poohbah!
Re: Just bought an Edirol R09HR. What else do I need?
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2009, 02:48:35 PM »