Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Yet another new mics advice thread  (Read 6598 times)

Offline boombox

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Yet another new mics advice thread
« on: December 14, 2013, 07:11:49 PM »
Hi all, can't believe I've been a member here over 9 years, but after periods of lurking on and off during that time, this is only my first post. :-[

I have been collecting recordings for about 10 years now (since the first days of sharingthegroove.org), and finally bought an Edirol HR09 about 5 years ago. Its internal mics have served me pretty well over the past few years. However, I'm finally in a position to get some mics and move my recordings up a notch or three, but which ones???  I have been reading and rereading threads here now for nearly a month, but am still undecided ??? To make things easier, I'll try to provide all the info up front. So what do I need?

Source Genre: Regular dimeadozeners will recognise the user name and know my usual recordings tend to be classic 60s rock, folkie singer-songwriters or modern fingerstyle guitar, but I'm not adverse to jambands like Govt Mule or SCI, or some all out heavy rock and classic/modern prog. Fans of Jon Gomm, Preston Reed etc will also know that that percussive style throws out some evil bass frequencies guaranteed to oversaturate/distort your recordings in the same way as a Motorhead gig will - it is this problem that I really want to be able to overcome.

Venues: Everything from sedate sit downs to loud raucous clubs (often with overloud PAs) to larger concert venues or occasional festivals. Whenever possible, I also try to get seats in front of the PA to get a more direct recording.

Budget: Only about $250-300 max as I have to factor in the bloodsucking leeches at the HMRC, who will add on approximately another 30% in customs fees and handling charges when I buy from the US or Canada and import into the UK.