Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Silence at end of Audacity Exported WAVs  (Read 3572 times)

Offline RobertNC

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Member
Silence at end of Audacity Exported WAVs
« on: October 10, 2008, 01:00:33 PM »
This question has been asked but I could not find a clear answer.  I've googled it no luck.

I'm new to Audacity - trying to help a friend and it is free.

I am adding gain to 24/96 files.  Then I resample to 44.1..  Then I export with dither to 16 bit WAVs.  When I open the WAVs Audacity has added about 4 seconds of silence to each one.

I need to join my final edits.  Joining the raw masters and then resampling/dithering is not really an option - I just don't have the computer power to handle files that large.

Is there a way to prevent Audacity from adding the silence to the end of each file. 

TIA.

[EDIT]  Oops. My bad.  Thought it worked but it does not always.  Problem continuing.
« Last Edit: May 23, 2009, 05:02:53 PM by RobertNC »
SD:  Microtech Gefell M210 > Silver Clad XLRs > SD722
LD:                   ADK A51 TL > Silver Clad XLRs > SD722
Guns:               DPA 4017    > Silver Clad XLRs > SD722

Offline willndmb

• Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Silence at end of Audacity Exported WAVs
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2008, 01:24:46 PM »
i have never found a way for it not to do "this"
my experience is that its like 1-2 sec though
i never had to join anything so i just cut it off
i suppose you could overlay the 2nd track on the silence though
Mics - AKG ck61/ck63 (c480b & Naiant actives), SP-BMC-2
XLR Cables - Silver Path w/Darktrain stubbies
Interconnect Cables - Dogstar (XLR), Darktrain (RCA > 1/8) (1/8 > 1/8), and Kind Kables (1/8f > 1/4)
Preamps - Naiant Littlebox & Tinybox
Recorders - PCM-M10 & DR-60D

Offline RobertNC

• Taperssection Member
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2008, 11:44:11 PM »