Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Audio upgrade for Sony Ax100 4k?  (Read 5667 times)

Offline calvinroots77

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Audio upgrade for Sony Ax100 4k?
« on: July 13, 2018, 09:53:31 PM »
I'm brand new to video recording.  Just purchased the Sony AX100 4k camcorder. I will mainly record my band (and others) in venues anywhere from bars to 1000 capacity clubs.  I purchased the Rode Video Mic Pro Plus but am wondering if the Stereo Video Mic Pro may have been a better option (or the stereo video mic X).  Also, if you have any other video mic suggestions, please share.  I also tape audio with CA-11s>CA9200>Edirol R09hr... Wasn't sure about running my line out to my AX100.  I appreciate any feedback.  Thank you
« Last Edit: July 14, 2018, 02:36:54 AM by calvinroots77 »
CA-11s > CA9200 > Edirol R09HR

Offline goodcooker

• Trade Count: (43)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • goes to 11
Re: Audio upgrade for Sony Ax100 4k?
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2018, 12:35:49 PM »

I wouldn't use a separate video mic if I had an audio rig. The compromise is you have to record both from the same location which is sometimes not ideal.

I use the output of my audio rig to feed my video camera 100% of the time. Finding the sweet spot for adjusting output level to input sensitivity takes a little practice.
Line Audio CM3/OM1 || MBHO KA500 hyper>PFA|| ADK A51 type IV || AKG C522XY
Oade Warm Mod and Presence+ Mod UA5s || Aerco MP2(needs help) || Neve Portico 5012 || Apogee MMP
SD Mixpre6 || Oade Concert Mod DR100mkii

pocket sized - CA11 cards > SP SB10 > Sony PCM A10

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/goodcooker

"Are you the Zman?" - fan at Panic 10-08-10 Kansas City
"I don't know who left this perfectly good inflatable wook doll here, but if I'm blowing her up, I'm keeping her." -  hoppedup

Offline robeti

• Trade Count: (39)
  • Taperssection Member
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2018, 01:33:06 PM »
I agree.