Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Setting Up Excel Spread Sheet From MS File Exporer  (Read 3062 times)

Offline Scooter123

• "I am not an alcoholic. I am a drunk. Drunks don't go to meetings."
  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Needs to get out more...
Setting Up Excel Spread Sheet From MS File Exporer
« on: April 23, 2020, 09:15:10 PM »
I've been taping since early 1971.  Yeah, I've got a bunch of shows, not to mention old fashioned trades and downloads.  The root file is Live Concerts and is organized first by artist, then by the show.  Collections are under Various. 

What I want to do is run a script and export those down two levels, the artist and show.  I do not need to export the individual songs, filesets, etc.  Just two pieces of information.

I can run Powershell and run basic script get-childitem within that directory, and behold it gives me the artist folders.  What I want to do is add to that script and include the subfolders one level down.  I've tried running get-childitem -recurse, but it gives me every subfolder and every file--too much information.  It also doesn't display the whole log, so I need to export that information to a text file.

The other way is to write a formula for Excel, but I am not too adept at Excel. 

Any suggestions out there?
Regards,
Scooter123

mk41 > N Box  > Sony M-10
mk4 > N Box > Sony M-10

Offline if_then_else

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member

Offline Scooter123

Re: Setting Up Excel Spread Sheet From MS File Exporer
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2020, 12:53:40 AM »
Not bad, but ...

Powershell has a text or page limitation, so my entire collection, while processed, was not displayed.  Here is the script I used while in the folder

get-childitem -recurse -directory -depth 1

However if I made a transcript before running the command

start-transcript