Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Tape makes a screeching noise  (Read 2635 times)

Offline CTDavies

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Tape makes a screeching noise
« on: February 04, 2021, 11:12:05 AM »
Hello Everyone,
new guy here from Germany (actually a Brit that's been in Germany for the last 50 odd years or so). I started recording concerts in the early 8ties, mainly progressive Rock stuff, until the mid nineties with a fair amount of indie stuff as well. We (my brother and I) mainly used a large Sony mobile tape deck with two directional microphones and it wasn't always easy getting the equipment into the venues back then, and there certainly weren't any taper sectons.
Got married, kids came (well, one daughter who is now 22), built a house and a career, I have been toying with the idea of getting the tapes out again and and digitizing the best of them. Of course back then I started trading what I recorded and built a large collection of tapes, with about 1.500 Genesis cassettes and about the same with various artists. Very early I learnt that not all people take care when copying audio cassettes and the quality could quickly deteriorate, so I wrote thousands of letters trying to get as close as possible to the master tapes. I was successful in many many cases (it was really worth it) and in some the taper even gave me his masters as some simply were not interested anymore - wow!
So for the last several months I've been using my laptop and Kenwood tape deck to get some experience and today I went and ordered the MixPre 3 (not the MkII) as I quickly realized that I don't have much control using a simple interface gadget and USB. I don't want to record concerts anymore and the MixPre 3 seems to be a good choice for use at home.