Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sample Sonosax recordings of classical music?  (Read 4089 times)

Offline lsanbourne

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Sample Sonosax recordings of classical music?
« on: November 17, 2023, 05:31:48 PM »
Hello,

I have been recording myself (I'm an opera singer) for about 7 years, first with Zoom devices and now with MixPre-6 ii, which is a great upgrade. I'm curious what I would gain if I splurged and got a Sonosax setup (e.g. AD8+ and M2D2). Does anyone have sample Sonosax recordings they could share, ideally in comparison with MixPre?

Thank you for taking the time to help!
Larry

Offline DSatz

• Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (35)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Sample Sonosax recordings of classical music?
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2023, 10:46:56 PM »
I think you are at the point of diminishing returns with the recorder you already have, unless there's some specific problem that you notice or suspect about it. Sonic differences among well-designed, properly operating preamps and recorders tend to be quite small, except for preamps that are designed to add a certain coloration to recordings--which none of the ones you mentioned are.

On the other hand your microphone(s), your way of using them and your acoustic surroundings--none of which you said anything about--are much larger variables--again assuming that the recorder is doing its job, which is to be a reliable, neutral scribe.
music > microphones > a recorder of some sort

Offline jbell

• TDS
  • Trade Count: (149)
  • Spreadicated
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2023, 08:44:51 AM »
Here was an old comp of the Sonosax and Mixpre6!  Most people preferred the Mixpre6. 

https://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=184892.0
Mics: DPA ST4011ER & 4018ER | Neumann kk 184 (matched)> Nbob/PFA
Preamps: DPA MMA 6000 | Audioroot Femto
Recorders: Sound Devices Mixpre-10 II | Sony PCM A10

-20        -12         -6        TDS   (32/48)