Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Patching out of R-09?  (Read 3947 times)

Offline vanark

• TDS
  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • If you ain't right, you better get right!
    • The Mudboy Grotto - North Mississippi Allstar fan site
Patching out of R-09?
« on: November 08, 2007, 01:57:16 AM »
Probably a pretty simple question, but being a newbie, I need to ask.

Just before the Rose Hill Drive set tonight, a guy came up and started asking me questions about my rig - what mics, did I use a preamp, what recording device I was using, and what kind of input and output I had on the R-09.  I finally figured out that he wanted to know if he could patch.  He had a JB3.  I didn't have a mini Y cable to split my feed out of my pre-amp and I wasn't even sure what kind of input he needed.  I thought of offering him the headphone/optical out on the R-09, but I didn't know if that would work for him.  On top of it, all this is happening as RHD is getting up on stage.  I assured him my recording would be going up on LMA in a few days and he could grab it there.  At that point, I got back to being prepared to actually record the show.  He was satisfied, but I guess I should know what is possible for the future.
If you have a problem relating to the Live Music Archive (http://www.archive.org/details/etree) please send an e-mail to us admins at LMA(AT)archive(DOT)org or post in the LMA thread here and we'll get on it.

Link to LMA Recordings

Link to Team Dirty South Recordings on the LMA

Mics: Microtech Gefell M21 (with Nbob actives) | Church Audio CA-11 (cards) (with CA UBB)
Pres: babynbox
Recorders: Tascam DR-60D | Tascam DR-40 | Sony PCM-A10 | Edirol R-4

Roving Sign

• Trade Count: (0)
Re: Patching out of R-09?
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2007, 07:29:41 AM »
optical would be the ticket...although I guess it would truncate a few bits if you are running 24 bit...(unless for some reason the R9 only outputs 16)