Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: New Taper Question  (Read 1633 times)

Offline beaufordrummer

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
New Taper Question
« on: March 04, 2004, 03:25:23 PM »
Hey. I'm brand new to this taper thing. I'm actually in the process of trying to get some used equipment for cheap.  Right now i have a pretty nice SONY minidisc recorder.  Everyone seems to agreee that sharp is the best for recording this kind of thing.  Would i be sacrificing a lot by keeping my sony and not purchasing a Sharp???  I really am low on cash so i'm trying to keep this cheap.
Dont Burn The Day

Sean

Offline Sean Gallemore

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re:New Taper Question
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2004, 04:43:10 PM »
you'll be fine

Offline Chanher

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • Colorado Crew
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2004, 10:43:31 PM »
yes you will be able to record live shows with a Sony. Sharp's biggest advantage is that you can set the levels WHILE you are recording. with sony's, you cannot adjust levels and record at the same time.

however, I am unfamiliar with some of sony's newer models. can anyone shed some light on the newer Sony models?
Line Audio CM4 / AT853Rx (c,h,o) / Studio Projects C4 MKII (c,h,o)
Sound Devices MP-2 / bm2p+ Edirol UA-5
Zoom F3 / F6 / Marantz Oade Warm Mod PMD661 / Tascam DR-70D

Offline shroominhumpy

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • Team Ghetto Rig--Cheap gear. Sick Tapes.
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2004, 11:27:45 PM »
They are the same as before. Got to pause and go into reclevel, but if you have external gain this isn’t an issue. I use a Sony MZ-N505, it doesn't bother me too much, but I am conservative with the volumes. (I would rather sacrifice a little resolution to make sure I have a useable show). I would expect Sony will stay the same for their HiMD models, but I am not basing that on anything but assumptions.

Jason