Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: SBD > XLR > UA-5 (stoopid question)  (Read 7689 times)

Offline KLowe

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • CrossFit....check you ego at the door
SBD > XLR > UA-5 (stoopid question)
« on: February 22, 2005, 12:22:46 AM »
Do I need to have the phantom power on when plugged into an XLR sbd?  My intuition says No....but I'm still really new at this and afraid to mess with the buttons while taping.  Does it make a difference?

-make fun of question now.....

thanks for any help.
I actually work for a living with music, instead of you jerk offs who wish they did.

bwaaaahahahahahaha.... that is awesome!

Offline bagtagsell

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • Man is condemned to be free- Sartre
Re: SBD > XLR > UA-5 (stoopid question)
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2005, 12:25:09 AM »
nope
MG200/210>m148>v3>MT2496

*aspiring gear slut of the month year*
"I am the gear slut goo goo g’joob g’goo goo g’joob"

Offline bluegrass_brad

• Trade Count: (16)
  • Old and in the way.
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2005, 01:02:47 AM »
Good idea to make sure it is not on, as some boards dont like having 48v sent into one of their matrix outs.
CK1x, CK2x, CK3x > Hub Industry Cables > Naiant PFA or MK46 > 460B
CK1, CK8, CK63 > 460b

"That was back in a time when society was not quite ready for this music. Anyone remember those days? That's when punk rock was dangerous, right?" - Mike Ness

Offline fozzy

• Trade Count: (2)
  • move along, nothing much to see here
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2005, 01:05:45 AM »
Good idea to make sure it is not on, as some boards dont like having 48v sent into one of their matrix outs.

yea phantom ON sounds like a good way to screw up the SBD
MK 4V > KCY 250/5 Ig (KS 10I)  > VST62IUg > 722

Offline bluegrass_brad

• Trade Count: (16)
  • Old and in the way.
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2005, 01:14:10 AM »

yea phantom ON sounds like a good way to screw up the SBD