Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Masters?  (Read 6734 times)

Offline Mr.Fantasy

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • Jesus saves...
Masters?
« on: January 01, 2008, 12:13:22 PM »
So I have a few shows on my laptop here....including my first solo pull (some Steve Pryor).....

But anyways...

I have all of these files building up on my computer....

Example: for the Steve Pryor...
I have my "Masters" usually two .Wav's from my R-09 for the first and second set...

Then I take those sets and split them into tracks with CD Wave Editor...and I export them, as .wav's again, into a new nicely organized folder...

Then I take those tracks...or my original full set .wav file (I say "or" because I don't have a system for this and things still happen in different sequences...)...and convert to level 8 FLAC using FLAC frontend...

So you see I now have set 1&2 in .wav, I have all of set 1&2 split up in .wav, then I have Flacs of either just the split tracks or just the full sets....

Also, just last night, I decided it would be cool to be able and archive my 24/48 files for safety sake, and also keep 16/44.1 around for making cd's for people...

My question is this...

How should I better manage my files?

I guess I want to have access to all of my files in their different formats and bit depths...

Will someone slap some sense into me?????!!!
"I read somewhere that 77 percent of all the mentally ill live in poverty. Actually, I'm more intrigued by the 23 percent who are apparently doing quite well for themselves" ---Jerry Garcia

Mics: Modified Nak 300's, Line Audio CM4
P48/Pres: PS2
Decks: Edirol R-09

Offline JD

• Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
Re: Masters?
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2008, 12:49:12 PM »
I make a folder that includes the following;
-- the master files (24/48)
-- the 24 bit post edited files (usually untracked)
-- the tracked out 16/44.1 flac files
-- text files