Gear / Technical Help > Ask The Tapers

Need a way to block cell phone noise

(1/4) > >>

Karl:
I record a lot of marching band type competitions. Recently, the judges at the competitions have been using multiple wifi hotspots to communicate their scores etc. This causes a lot of radio noise type interference with my recording set up. Is there anything I can add to my set up to help filter out the interference? Attached is a picture of my set up. They are AT-853 mics into Samson phantom power adaptors into the Tascam DR-100 mkii.

rumbleseat:
I am not an expert in RF interference, but I've read that the Neutrik EMC connectors do a good job of rejecting RF noise.

http://www.neutrik.com/en/xlr/emc-series/nc3mxx-emc

In your case, you'd need to try inserting a pair of EMC cables between your Samson PM4 adapter and the recorder.  If this works, great.  But, it's possible that the interference gets converted to an audio signal before the recorder (i.e. inside the Samson adapter or further upstream), and in that case, the EMC cables wouldn't help.  A new set of mics with XLR connectors plus the EMC cables would be the next thing to try.

You need only one EMC connector per cable - the most common configuration is the connector that mates with the recorder (Neutrik NC3MXX-EMC).
If you want to tackle this yourself, be aware that these connectors are more challenging to solder than standard XLR connectors.  Might be worthwhile to have one of the TS guys make you a nice set of cables.

You might also try wrapping the DR100 and the Samson adapters with a single piece of aluminum foil.  Maybe that will do the trick!

DSatz:
These problems can be quite difficult to solve. If the RF source is close to your equipment and you can't increase the distance (or can't increase it sufficiently), it may prove impossible to solve the problem, though you may be able to reduce the effect of the interference.