Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Need help deciding on my first mic  (Read 2199 times)

Offline HighVoltage

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
    • All The Way Live
Need help deciding on my first mic
« on: September 29, 2004, 02:30:26 AM »
I want to buy my first mic, but im very new to this so i am not sure what i should get.  Stereo mics or cardiod?  I plan to record concerts i attend, so im looking for something compact that wont pick up much crowd noise.  I also want high sound quality and my budget is around $200.

I was recommended this mic by a friend, but i dont know anything about it.

http://www.minidisco.com/ecm-ms907.html

I was looking at this mic as an option, but again, i dont know much.

http://www.minidisco.com/sp-cmc2.html

Thanks in advance!
www.itsallthewaylive.net

SP CMC8's > SP-SPSB1 > Archos AV500 or Tascam DR-2D
ISI-HMB1 (AT943's) > battery box > Archos AV500 or Tascam DR-2D

Offline spyder9

• Trade Count: (82)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • "Are you Zman?"
    • My Archived shows
Re: Need help deciding on my first mic
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2004, 12:04:51 PM »
Go with the SP-CMC2.  Its a stealth mic, very light, and widely used here.  The Sony mic is difficult to conceal for concerts where taping is not permitted.  If you were to get a handheld mic for concerts where they allow taping, it would be better you invested your money in 2 good mics, a preamp/AD, XLR cables, and a sturdy mic stand.  Other members can give an idea on what pair of mics that have worked to their enjoyment.  That's my 2 cents.   

Offline jesse

• Taperssection Member
  • Listen to more Miles!
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2004, 11:43:59 AM »