Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)  (Read 83200 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mcfoster

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 280
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #465 on: April 16, 2022, 09:06:02 PM »
Haha, I go back to taping in 96, so there is that.  Good idea on the set break swap. This might happen next weekend, if I can convince my buddy Charley, who is probably on this forum to take one for the team. He did just get KM150's though and may want to run into his on deck (the MP3ii). Time will tell.  Cheers...
Recording:
AKG CK1X,2X,3X,8X>Modded MK46's>PFA's ADK-51's>Zoom F6 and or F3
Sennheiser MK2E gopro elements> DR-05

Playback:
Peachtree Nova? Topping D70?Marantz NA6006?>Inspire Audio SET EL84 tube amp?Hafler SE-120's? Amp Camp Nelson Pass designed 8 watt Class A (building now)>Klipsch Custom KLF-20's, RF-7's it depends on the day.

Offline voltronic

  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3537
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #466 on: July 16, 2022, 05:44:41 PM »
Firmware v1.90 has been released. Looks like just a couple minor bugfixes.

https://zoomcorp.com/en/us/field-recorders/field-recorders/f6/f6-support/
DPA 4061 ~ Line Audio CM3 ~ Naiant X-Q ~ AT 853  |  Naiant PFAs ~ Shure FP24  |  Zoom F6 ~ Sony PCM-M10
MOTU M2 ~ KRK Rokit RP5 ~ Sennheiser HD 650 ~ Etymotic ER4XR

Team Line Audio

Offline gmm6797

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3554
  • Gender: Male
  • Schoeps MK4 > nBoxPlat > Sony A10/SDMixPre6/SD 722
    • Homepage
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #467 on: August 04, 2022, 10:58:46 AM »
Has anyone had the F6 just refuse to turn on? I have tried USB, NiMh and even a Sony L battery and the unit will not turn on, it is like is is frozen or locked
I am new to the F6, sorry if this is a simple answer, I did google and could not find an answer for this unit

Offline roffels

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 190
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #468 on: August 06, 2022, 01:02:46 PM »
Question regarding using the F6 for a soundboard feed - would pads/attenuators be needed, or is there very little risk of overloading on this unit?

Offline mcfoster

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 280
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #469 on: August 06, 2022, 01:32:54 PM »
In my experience the zoom F5 and F3 are great for soundboard feeds. They just need to be set to line in for those channels with P48 set to off. Adjust levels just to the point of clipping if you want to float, and definitely run 32/24. It will tell you if an incoming signal is too high. In that case see if you can turn down the gain or ask the sound crew to turn down the output. I always try to do a test run to set levels during soundcheck. I am sure other people will have some more tips...
Recording:
AKG CK1X,2X,3X,8X>Modded MK46's>PFA's ADK-51's>Zoom F6 and or F3
Sennheiser MK2E gopro elements> DR-05

Playback:
Peachtree Nova? Topping D70?Marantz NA6006?>Inspire Audio SET EL84 tube amp?Hafler SE-120's? Amp Camp Nelson Pass designed 8 watt Class A (building now)>Klipsch Custom KLF-20's, RF-7's it depends on the day.

Offline roffels

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 190
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #470 on: August 06, 2022, 04:27:51 PM »
In my experience the zoom F5 and F3 are great for soundboard feeds. They just need to be set to line in for those channels with P48 set to off. Adjust levels just to the point of clipping if you want to float, and definitely run 32/24. It will tell you if an incoming signal is too high. In that case see if you can turn down the gain or ask the sound crew to turn down the output. I always try to do a test run to set levels during soundcheck. I am sure other people will have some more tips...
Thanks for the response.

If I'm running 32, would I still need to turn down the gain? What's the advantage of also running 24?

Offline mcfoster

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 280
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #471 on: August 06, 2022, 04:44:23 PM »
Sorry, I meant 32/48. You should not have to turn down the gain in 32 bit. Sometimes I an XLR out of the back of a PA speaker and it gives that too hot message. Specifically the F6. So I just turn it down. It will also give that message anytime you plug in a mic or line with the unit on.
Recording:
AKG CK1X,2X,3X,8X>Modded MK46's>PFA's ADK-51's>Zoom F6 and or F3
Sennheiser MK2E gopro elements> DR-05

Playback:
Peachtree Nova? Topping D70?Marantz NA6006?>Inspire Audio SET EL84 tube amp?Hafler SE-120's? Amp Camp Nelson Pass designed 8 watt Class A (building now)>Klipsch Custom KLF-20's, RF-7's it depends on the day.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.037 seconds with 30 queries.
© 2002-2022 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF