Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Setting M10 up for mic input?  (Read 745 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7499
  • Gender: Male
  • 😈
Setting M10 up for mic input?
« on: March 28, 2022, 04:36:49 PM »
I’m discombobulated from moving, my recollection is that to go mic in I would plug the mini cable out of my Babynbox, into the m10, line out is disabled and default is to go mic in.

I’m confused because under “audio out” in the menu, the only choices are line out, or headphones.

It’s been years since I ran an m10, any help would be really appreciated! I have a show tonight.
😈 Mk4v/41v>nbob actives>Baby nbox>Oade warm mod Marantz 620.

Open: 4v/41v>nbobs>Nicky mod Naiant PFA>Oade warm mod 661.

Home: the Stereo Hospital budget refurb rig: Lappie>DragonFly Cobalt/Red with Jitterbug>Nikko NR520/Sansui 221>B&W V202 speakers.

Offline Ozpeter

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1298
Re: Setting M10 up for mic input?
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2022, 05:36:54 PM »
I think you should be looking at input settings not output settings.

Offline seethreepo

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1228
  • Gender: Male
  • Resist Or Serve
Re: Setting M10 up for mic input?
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2022, 05:39:06 PM »
*** disclaimer***  I dont own one of these and have never used one but unless there is a typo in your post 
Audio out  to me sounds like alternatives to transfer the audio out of the deck and should have no bearing on the recording inputs.

In my experience with a bunch of decks is that line in can take the signal at a "pro level"  "hot" While mic in  inputs are more sensitive to the incoming signal. I alwyas use line in if I can  it helps avoid distortion /brickwalling. 
If you get a loud enough signal that way (line in)  its what I would suggest. if you are recording unamplified music or accoustic based stuff   mic in might be the better choice. 
"Never heard anyone say that music was the thing that fucked up their day" 
-Chris Robinson 1996-09-24

 real recorder > phone
 external mics > Internal mics
 FOB > Taper Section
 HATS > better than Denied

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7499
  • Gender: Male
  • 😈
Re: Setting M10 up for mic input?
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2022, 06:35:16 PM »
Not sure I asked right, I need to know how to set the m10 so it inputs mic level, not line up n?

Thanks!
😈 Mk4v/41v>nbob actives>Baby nbox>Oade warm mod Marantz 620.

Open: 4v/41v>nbobs>Nicky mod Naiant PFA>Oade warm mod 661.

Home: the Stereo Hospital budget refurb rig: Lappie>DragonFly Cobalt/Red with Jitterbug>Nikko NR520/Sansui 221>B&W V202 speakers.

Online yug du nord

  • ...til things never seen seem familiar…
  • Trade Count: (56)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5475
  • made with natural flavor
Re: Setting M10 up for mic input?
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2022, 06:47:03 PM »
Just plug into the “Line In” (black) input on top of deck to run line in (no internal preamp).
Or plug into the “Mic In” (red) input on top of deck to run mic input (internal preamp).
« Last Edit: March 28, 2022, 06:54:57 PM by yug du nord »
.....got a blank space where my mind should be.....

Offline opsopcopolis

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1933
Re: Setting M10 up for mic input?
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2022, 06:52:43 PM »
Not sure I asked right, I need to know how to set the m10 so it inputs mic level, not line up n?

Thanks!

The mic input jack inputs mic level and the line input jack is line level and set the gain accordingly using the knob

Offline beatkilla

  • Trade Count: (64)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2027
  • Gender: Male
Re: Setting M10 up for mic input?
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2022, 07:08:57 PM »
There is no menu setting… plug it into to the mic input and set the switch to low sensitivity.

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7499
  • Gender: Male
  • 😈
Re: Setting M10 up for mic input?
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2022, 09:45:08 PM »
Thanks all! Thievery Corp, first show in two years. 😀
😈 Mk4v/41v>nbob actives>Baby nbox>Oade warm mod Marantz 620.

Open: 4v/41v>nbobs>Nicky mod Naiant PFA>Oade warm mod 661.

Home: the Stereo Hospital budget refurb rig: Lappie>DragonFly Cobalt/Red with Jitterbug>Nikko NR520/Sansui 221>B&W V202 speakers.

Offline daspyknows

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8788
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't ask, don't tell, don't get get caught
Re: Setting M10 up for mic input?
« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2022, 11:29:52 PM »
Thanks all! Thievery Corp, first show in two years. 😀

good luck.  knock that rust off.

Offline tim in jersey

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 3717
  • Gender: Male
Re: Setting M10 up for mic input?
« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2022, 11:47:47 PM »

[/quote]

good luck.  knock that rust off.
[/quote]

Indeed. My first post-plague 007 gig was last September. I plugged the baby-N into the line input. Forgot the baby-N doesn't provide gain like my N-boxes.  :facepalm:

Had to add gain in post. Quite a bit. Not ideal, but it still came out pretty great. I was surprised how clean the noise floor was after adding ~12db of gain in post.

Great little rig.

Offline tim in jersey

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 3717
  • Gender: Male
Re: Setting M10 up for mic input?
« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2022, 02:30:33 AM »
Also do a quick low-light/blind tactile check of your gear and how to use it at a quick glance.

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7499
  • Gender: Male
  • 😈
Re: Setting M10 up for mic input?
« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2022, 01:31:58 PM »
What I love most about the m10 is that if you set it to 4 running 4v/41v>bnb>m10 mic in, levels will be good for most anything. Never clipped a show running m10. And wide open for acoustic.
😈 Mk4v/41v>nbob actives>Baby nbox>Oade warm mod Marantz 620.

Open: 4v/41v>nbobs>Nicky mod Naiant PFA>Oade warm mod 661.

Home: the Stereo Hospital budget refurb rig: Lappie>DragonFly Cobalt/Red with Jitterbug>Nikko NR520/Sansui 221>B&W V202 speakers.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.051 seconds with 34 queries.
© 2002-2022 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF