Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Having a hard time with setting levels...(svu-1 content)  (Read 7458 times)

Ray76

• Trade Count: (0)
Re: Having a hard time with setting levels...(svu-1 content)
« Reply #15 on: August 11, 2005, 01:51:49 PM »
I have been running the JB3 and the UA-5 combo for about 4 months now, and every single show I tape I have the hardest time trying the set levels correctly.  My levels always seem to "jump" and tend to be overall inconsistent. 

I know that the JB3's meters are not the best as far as accuracy, but I really haven't had a problem with overpowering.  Actually, most of the tapes I make have to be put under some post work for normalizing, etc because the levels are too low.

Would the SVU-1 really be a big help for this problem?  I am willing to get one if I know that it will really help out, otherwise I guess I can keep toying with the JB3 meters.

So, basically I need to hear the quick and dirty opinions/testimonials of the SVU-1.

Thanks for the help!

dklein put up a great webpage of this question about the level indicators on the JB3. 

http://ca.geocities.com/dkleined@rogers.com/audio/JB3meters/JB3meters.htm

Basically he found that when you see the bars moving and you think you're getting a good signal which is maybe a little bit low and safe, the signal's actually way too low.  You want the bars to be as high as possible without getting too close to the clipping range.  The appropriate range is only the 3 or 4 pixel rows thick in the display under the clipping section.  It's a tiny little sliver of the whole meter height. 

Too bad the JB3 people didn't zoom in on this range.

In effect, the meter they designed has way too big of a range.

Todd in Buffalo

I always had mine about halfway up in what the jb3 has as "clipping" constantly.

Offline tms

• Taperssection Member
« Reply #16 on: August 12, 2005, 09:21:34 AM »