Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: First time taper, need help with mics!  (Read 2451 times)

Offline redbook

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • I'm a llama!
First time taper, need help with mics!
« on: May 31, 2004, 10:06:18 AM »
Hey there,

After trading for more than 15 years, I decided it's time to tape my own tapes and contribute to the community.

I recently bought a nice portable DAT (TCD-D8), and I'm still trying to find the best deal on mics, but next thursday I will attend to a Sting show and I just wanted to do my first tape in that show.

I have no time to buy new mics for thursday, but I have access to all kinds of microphones. My brother plays in a band and he told me I could borrow any kind of mic of their equipment.

I'm a totally newbie on mics, and they have lots of types (vocal mics, small, big, etc...).

I would like to know what kind of mic would be better tot take for taping an audience show. Any help?

Sorry if I didn't explain myself better, I'm a totally newbie.
Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: May 31, 2004, 02:42:05 PM by redbook »

Offline Nick Graham

• Amorican
  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re:First time taper, need help with mics!
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2004, 02:11:32 PM »
A lot of it depends on what and where you'll be taping. Sting doesn't allow open taping, so in that situation stealth would be the appropriate route. I'm not sure what mics a band would use that would be small enough for what you'll need.

Depending on your budget, you can go from Coresound Low Cost Binaurals ($75 a pair) all the way up to the DPA 4060 line (around $800 new).

Give us a bit more info and I'm sure the folks around here could help. Here's your first +T just to get you started...