Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: How to measure mic voltage from Plug-In Power recorder?  (Read 5380 times)

Offline gunk

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
How to measure mic voltage from Plug-In Power recorder?
« on: January 22, 2018, 05:27:38 PM »
I want to check how much voltage is being supplied to the mic via Plug-In Power from my recorder. 

I put a mono jack plug with an attached lead in the mic socket.  When I put a meter across the leads I get no voltage at all. 

Does the mic need to be present and drawing current for a voltage to appear?

I tried a few recorders including an Olympus LS-P1 and got no reading on any.

Offline rigpimp

• Trade Count: (14)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Jarts don't kill people!
Re: How to measure mic voltage from Plug-In Power recorder?
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2018, 05:46:52 PM »
I've never used PIP on a recorder before but you may need to use a stereo 1/8" as opposed to a mono.  The mono has one ring and the stereo has two.  The mono may not be passing a voltage because of this.  ?? :shrug:
Mics: Schoeps MK 5 MP, Schoeps MK 8 MP, Schoeps MK 41 MP, KCY 250/5 > PFA
Pre/A>D/P48: Sonosax SX/M2, Sonosax SX/M2-LS, E.A.A. PSP-2, Baby Nbox, Neumann BS48i-2 (for sale)
Recorders: Sound Devices Mixpre-6ii, Sony PCM-A10
Playback: Jolida 1501 Hybrid > McIntosh MX 130 > Von Schweikert VR-4 JR, or Little Dot MK III > Sennheiser HD700
http://archive.org/bookmarks/kskreider
https://www.concertarchives.org/kskreider
https://archive.org/details/thespps

Online Gutbucket

• record > listen > revise technique
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • "Better to love music than respect it" ~Stravinsky
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2018, 09:30:18 AM »
Assuming plug-in-power is turned on, you should be able to measure a voltage of around 1.5V to 5V (typically around 3V) between the sleeve (ground) and tip or ring connections of the TRS mic input jack.