Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7  (Read 36398 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline hipporu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • The head - this is the distance between the ears
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #255 on: May 31, 2022, 12:11:35 PM »
A few days ago I discovered that in the remix mode my mp3 does not work ms decode,
it just overwrites iso tracks 1 and 2 to channels L and R  as is.
firmware v8
Not that it was often needed, but nevertheless, when it was needed, it did not work.
Line Audio CM3 CM4 OM1, MKH 416, MKH 406, BP4029, AT4073a, AT Pro 45,  Ferrograph (Reslo RBL), ECM-737
SD MixPre-6, SD MixPre-3II, PCM-A10, Deity HD-TX, Marantz PMD620, Sony TC-D5 ProII
SD MixPre-D, Dcode PS-T, Sound Professionals SP-Preamp, Church Audio ST-20A

Offline GLouie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 115
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #256 on: June 01, 2022, 01:47:55 AM »
A few days ago I discovered that in the remix mode my mp3 does not work ms decode,
it just overwrites iso tracks 1 and 2 to channels L and R  as is.
firmware v8
Not that it was often needed, but nevertheless, when it was needed, it did not work.

Did you report it to Sound Devices support? I have an open support ticket about Remix not working right when L/R mix tracks were not recorded (MixPre10ii), which they confirmed. Maybe if they are working on Remix, they might be interested.

Offline hipporu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • The head - this is the distance between the ears
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #257 on: June 01, 2022, 03:12:40 AM »
Did you report it to Sound Devices support? I have an open support ticket about Remix not working right when L/R mix tracks were not recorded (MixPre10ii), which they confirmed. Maybe if they are working on Remix, they might be interested.
Yes, I reported SD through their website.
They still have the night.
I will give the knowledge, when they answer.
I hope SD can fix it quickly.

upd
Answered
For your question on the MixPre-3 II, it is true that remixing the MS setting recorded to a channel is currently unavailable.
I can request this feature for a future firmware update for the MixPre II series.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2022, 04:07:38 PM by hipporu »
Line Audio CM3 CM4 OM1, MKH 416, MKH 406, BP4029, AT4073a, AT Pro 45,  Ferrograph (Reslo RBL), ECM-737
SD MixPre-6, SD MixPre-3II, PCM-A10, Deity HD-TX, Marantz PMD620, Sony TC-D5 ProII
SD MixPre-D, Dcode PS-T, Sound Professionals SP-Preamp, Church Audio ST-20A

Offline GLouie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 115
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #258 on: June 01, 2022, 05:27:42 PM »
Funny, to read the manual and look at their video, you would think Remix works on anything easy-peasy. We are finding out differently. I never tried M-S remixing, but suggested to them they simply say Remix is only good when L-R Mix is recorded.

I don't know how difficult a fix this might be, or their priorities on software, but they did need a couple of months to fix the pre-roll time count offset.


Did you report it to Sound Devices support? I have an open support ticket about Remix not working right when L/R mix tracks were not recorded (MixPre10ii), which they confirmed. Maybe if they are working on Remix, they might be interested.
Yes, I reported SD through their website.
They still have the night.
I will give the knowledge, when they answer.
I hope SD can fix it quickly.

upd
Answered
For your question on the MixPre-3 II, it is true that remixing the MS setting recorded to a channel is currently unavailable.
I can request this feature for a future firmware update for the MixPre II series.


Offline Gordon

  • Trade Count: (22)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 11581
  • Gender: Male
    • my list
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #259 on: June 02, 2022, 02:42:46 PM »
I recorded a file the other night at 32/48 and noticed a +682db momentary signal come through at the very beginning of the track, left side. Has anyone else had this happen? It was causing my waveform stats read at '+inf' and I couldn't for the life of me figure it out until I looked into the waveform at the top of the RX7 window. It's not a big deal right now as it could just cut it but if it happened during a set, that would be another story.

Here's a screenshot: https://i.imgur.com/AzMjp0Z.png

Edit: once zoomed in, it actually looks like it occurs in both channels.

Pic: https://i.imgur.com/ZgfWT40.png

I've had that happen plenty of times but always at the very end of the file.  NEVER has happened to me at the beginning or middle.  Never researched why because it causes no harm. 
Microtech Gefell M20 or M21 > Nbob actives > Naiant PFA > Sound Devices MixPre-6 II

https://archive.org/details/fav-gordonlw

Offline commongrounder

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #260 on: June 04, 2022, 01:49:28 PM »
I recorded a file the other night at 32/48 and noticed a +682db momentary signal come through at the very beginning of the track, left side. Has anyone else had this happen? It was causing my waveform stats read at '+inf' and I couldn't for the life of me figure it out until I looked into the waveform at the top of the RX7 window. It's not a big deal right now as it could just cut it but if it happened during a set, that would be another story.

Here's a screenshot: https://i.imgur.com/AzMjp0Z.png

Edit: once zoomed in, it actually looks like it occurs in both channels.

Pic: https://i.imgur.com/ZgfWT40.png

I've had that happen plenty of times but always at the very end of the file.  NEVER has happened to me at the beginning or middle.  Never researched why because it causes no harm.

I’m curious which version of the firmware is installed on the recorder? There was a known issue with a single sample glitch appearing at just the *beginning only* of a 32-bit float recording, which was fixed in a later version. I had it happen a few times on my unit, and the problem disappeared after updating. I haven’t personally experienced, or heard of before, glitching at other locations in an audio file.

Offline Gordon

  • Trade Count: (22)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 11581
  • Gender: Male
    • my list
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 7
« Reply #261 on: June 04, 2022, 02:33:57 PM »
I'm on v8 now but it's happened randomly over various firmware.

edit: in my case I'm not convinced it's not a glitch in iZotope.  If I cut off the spike at the end another appears.  I have to fade it out to be able to get an accurate gain reading.  I need to go back and find a file that does it and open it in wavelab to check.
« Last Edit: June 04, 2022, 03:55:39 PM by Gordon »
Microtech Gefell M20 or M21 > Nbob actives > Naiant PFA > Sound Devices MixPre-6 II

https://archive.org/details/fav-gordonlw

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.038 seconds with 29 queries.
© 2002-2022 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF