Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Audio Stretching in Adobe Audition  (Read 480 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BradleyJY15

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 148
  • Gender: Male
Audio Stretching in Adobe Audition
« on: April 20, 2022, 02:46:02 PM »
I taped a show with AUD mics->SD MP6, then had SBD->TASCAM DR-05.

I want to stretch the SBD source by a couple hundredths of a second.

How do I do that in Adobe Audition w/o a pitch correction (and killing the sound)?
Schoeps MK22 & MK41 -> Nbob Actives -> Naiant PFA -> SD MixPre-6ii

Offline hoserama

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 409
  • Gender: Male
Re: Audio Stretching in Adobe Audition
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2022, 10:28:17 AM »
Select resample in the time stretching module.
Audio: Countryman B3 + AT853(hypers/cards/subcards) + SBD feeds
Wireless Receivers: Lots of those
Antennas: Lots of those
Cables: Lots of those
Recorders: Cymatic Utrack24, Cymatic LR16, RME Multiface, Zoom F8, (3) Tascam 680, (2) Tascam 2D, Zoom H6, Zoom H4n, and a graveyard of irivers/nomads/minidiscs.

Offline BradleyJY15

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 148
  • Gender: Male
Re: Audio Stretching in Adobe Audition
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2022, 11:19:16 AM »
Is this the correct tool?

These are the settings that I am using and it comes out sounding terrible.

Not sure what else I need to do or what all the settings really mean.
Schoeps MK22 & MK41 -> Nbob Actives -> Naiant PFA -> SD MixPre-6ii

Offline BradleyJY15

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 148
  • Gender: Male
Re: Audio Stretching in Adobe Audition
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2022, 11:26:02 AM »
When I run those settings and preview the audio it sounds good.

But I have processed it twice and it comes out terrible.

I will try again.
Schoeps MK22 & MK41 -> Nbob Actives -> Naiant PFA -> SD MixPre-6ii

Offline DavidPuddy

  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1424
Re: Audio Stretching in Adobe Audition
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2022, 01:37:57 PM »
« Last Edit: April 22, 2022, 01:43:19 PM by DavidPuddy »

Offline hoserama

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 409
  • Gender: Male
Re: Audio Stretching in Adobe Audition
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2022, 08:22:18 AM »
Is this the correct tool?

These are the settings that I am using and it comes out sounding terrible.

Not sure what else I need to do or what all the settings really mean.

I did a video on time alignment in Audition, check it out at https://youtu.be/MOz2GUdL_vw

For Audition CC, use the Stretch/Pitch module. Make sure you select "lock stretch and pitch shift (Resample)".

I've done a bunch of tests and the rebuilt time stretch algorithm in the Audition builds after CS5 are just not as accurate as Audition 3.0. I still keep AA3 for the time stretching as a result.
Audio: Countryman B3 + AT853(hypers/cards/subcards) + SBD feeds
Wireless Receivers: Lots of those
Antennas: Lots of those
Cables: Lots of those
Recorders: Cymatic Utrack24, Cymatic LR16, RME Multiface, Zoom F8, (3) Tascam 680, (2) Tascam 2D, Zoom H6, Zoom H4n, and a graveyard of irivers/nomads/minidiscs.

Offline morst

  • Trade Unionist
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5104
Re: Audio Stretching in Adobe Audition
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2022, 09:44:59 PM »
I bet turning off the vocoder feature would help for a straight time stretch/squash.


And yes, when you change the amount of time a file plays for, the pitch will change (probably microscopically)

Offline vibrioidxire

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Gender: Male
  • Where am I?
Re: Audio Stretching in Adobe Audition
« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2022, 05:45:31 AM »
Is anybody else having an issue with speed correcting causing borderline lossiness on spectrograph analysis? ???

I'm slowing down a tape that ran half semitone too fast. I used the iZoptope Radius option in the "Stretch and Pitch (process)..." tab. The hiss seems to appear less intact than in the original track, and tapers off when the music ends. To compare it, I used Audacity to see if it gave me a cleaner result and it does show the hiss being more intact (although losing everything above ~20.5kHz).

Each spectral display sample is displayed from Spek 0.8.2.3

Will have to do a WeTransfer link for full quality look sorry: https://we.tl/t-L0jFNfQJrP

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.041 seconds with 31 queries.
© 2002-2022 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF