Gear / Technical Help > Microphones & Setup

Mid-range microphone recommendations.

(1/4) > >>

entertainment:
I have been recording shows using the built-in microphones on my Tascam DR-07 MKII.
I don't go to shows that often but I have come to want to invest in a better microphone.
Usually I record loud rock shows in small to medium sized venues.

Since I don't go that often I don't think pro gear like the SP-CMC-XX, DPA6XXX, etc. are quite worth my while.
Audio Technica AT9901 and Sony ECM-719 are often recommended as lower end microphones but I feel like they are not much improvement from the built-in microphones, though I have no experience with them.
Another mic I've been recommended is the CX-500 by JTS which seems like a good bet apart from being an omnidirectional mic.
I'm wondering if someone has an opinion on these or could point me in the right direction for an alternative recommendation.
Additionally, it is quite a hassle and expensive to get a hold of equipment from Europe and the US (like Church Audio) due to my location so it would be appreciated if only microphones from Japanese makers like Audio Technica are recommended.
I am familiar with Sound Professionals' SP-CMC line that modifies Audio Technica models but again they are based in the US and thus not really a good option.

Any advice is appreciated. First time poster here, so be gentle...

Elana:
I wouldn't use any of the AT mics in the SP-CMC line at loud shows. You need mics that can handle a higher spl or you will get distortion.

What do you consider mid range? Are you looking for stealth or open taping?

entertainment:

--- Quote from: Elana on May 27, 2022, 03:18:27 AM ---I wouldn't use any of the AT mics in the SP-CMC line at loud shows. You need mics that can handle a higher spl or you will get distortion.

What do you consider mid range? Are you looking for stealth or open taping?

--- End quote ---
Thanks for the response!