Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Transfering Casette Audio to Computer  (Read 5458 times)

Offline smokingpanda

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Transfering Casette Audio to Computer
« on: March 21, 2006, 08:35:46 PM »
I am very new to the whole putting tapes or whatever media into a digital format. I have recently aquired about 100 recorded shows, quality varying, and would like to put them onto my computer. They are all on cassette tape...  for the most part, the quality of all these tapes is mediocre. My questions are these:

1) What should I look for in a tape player in order to play the tape to my computer? I don't want anything too pricy, but something that will do a nice job and not provide and extra noise.

2) What kind of hardware do I need/should I get for my computer?  Do I need a new soundcard for the quality of my tapes?  Will a soundblaster work?

3) Anything else I should be looking for? Software? etc?

I am sure all this information is buried on this board somewhere, but I have been unable to find it.  I also don't want to spend a bundle of money on this project.. I have spent enough to get the tapes.  I want to spend somewhere under $200.  Someone had mentioned something about using a Nomad Jukebox 3 to hook up to a boombox or whatever and it will capture the audio into a wav format.. However I am having problems finding a realistically priced one of those...  I don't need all the fancy pancy stuff on it.. At least I don't think so. Since Nomad Jukebox 3 are hard to find, are there other cheap alternatives? 

All in all, I am pretty frustrated with this whole project.  I don't want to skimp on quality (what little there is), but I also don't want to fork out a lot of cash.. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Roving Sign

Re: Transfering Casette Audio to Computer
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2006, 08:46:05 PM »