Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Any help?  (Read 5212 times)

Offline Herestravy

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Any help?
« on: September 30, 2011, 01:18:03 AM »
Hey guys, im new to recording live music. I have had the idea in mind for awhile but never had the money to get a little rig set up until now!  ;D
So this is what I was thinking.

Zoom H1 Handy Portable Digital Recorder
16GB micro SD card
SP-CMC-20 Deluxe Cardioid Stereo Microphone
SP-SPSB-8  Mini Battery Module with adjustable bass roll-off

Would this be a decent noob rig for local rock shows?
Also do you guys have any tips?

Offline TimeBandit

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Regular
Re: Any help?
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2011, 11:38:29 AM »
for a first starting rig with the best bang for the buck:

1. used Tascam DR7 (Mk1 old model)
2. Check the yard sale here if church audio ca14 mics and CA9100 preamp appears, or even smaller ca-ugly

your options aren' that good because you can' t set gain on a battery box and the zoom recorder has only 3 settings for gain on the line input. so you are restricted in setting gain.
the dr7 mk1 has a real gain wheel.
even i remind the zoom h1 has a bug which drains out the battery even its turned off.

if you money is no problem check the sony pcm - m10.
2015 rig: CA-11 -> CA-9100 -> PCM-M10
2016 rig: Sony PCM-M10 + SP-SPSB-4 microphone plug-in power supply +  SP-CMC8 with Low Sens mod
[backup: CA-9100 - Tascam DR-05 Firmware 2.0 + Yamaha Pocketrak W24]
video 2016: Casio EX-100 HS (same as Olympus Stylus1 - but much smaller - japan import not availiable in EU)

Offline bryonsos

• Omni addict
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • If it's important, tell me to write it down.
    • LMA uploads
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2011, 11:52:25 AM »
Here's an interesting listing in the YS:

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=149302.0