Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Turntable----->JB3  (Read 3244 times)

Offline T.J.

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Always look on the Bright Side of Life
    • My shows taped on LMA
Turntable----->JB3
« on: June 11, 2005, 03:44:04 PM »
so right now i am in the process of transfering old Zappa records onto cdr's. i have a pretty standard panasonic turntable, which has both a headphone and mic jack. by using a standard mini stereo chord, i connected the turntable to a JB3 (line in). i turned the volume about 1/2 way up on the turntable and set gain @ -05 on the JB3 to leave me right around -06 db. it sounds pretty good right now, but i'm not sure if there is another way i should do this (since it is my first time transfering records to cdr). i have the following questions for anyone who has done this before:

1. should i use the phones or mic jack out of the turntable?
2. is it better to leave the gain @ 0 on the JB3, and just adjust the volume on the turntable to get the levels i like?
3. is it really necessary to stay around -6 db when doing a project like this, or is that only applicable to live recording settings?

any other input or hints is greatly appreciated. i have wavelab 5.0 which i will probably play around with and cd wave to track.
thanks in advance,
    t.j.

Offline blastroknow

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • you can fight about love all you want
Re: Turntable----->JB3
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2005, 08:24:49 PM »
I'm baffled by the phones/mic jack, too.

I transfer vinyl by using a regular hi-fi preamp with a phono input.  The phono input stage will give you the gain needed to get your levels up to a nice clean line level which you then take from a tape monitor send and jack it into the JB3 {or your computer} with the 1/8" stereo mini.  I suppose that phones out on your panasonic might have enough gain but if it sounds hollow or noisy the phono preamp route will cure that.