Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: What portable recorder for very loud noise  (Read 5114 times)

Offline epicimages

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
What portable recorder for very loud noise
« on: March 17, 2012, 06:33:56 PM »
Hi guys, Im new here and i need some help.

Im not into audio, im a photographer, however i have been asked by some friends whos cars i regularly photograph, to make some videos.
I have the video all sorted with a few contour HD cameras and suction cups but its the audio i know nothing about. I have done as much research as i can, but sometimes it gets too technical for me to understand some articles.
I am looking at buying a portable audio recorder due to the ease of use, and its something i could locate around a car quite easily.

my problem is, i will be working with Ferraris, Lamborghinis etc... where i will be placing the recorder in the engine bay (suction cupped to the inside of the glass boot lid)

i have a feeling its going to get pretty damn loud in there. i have done some research and found the olympus LS-100 has a SPL of 140db.

is this the only unit that will record that loud?

i dont know the  dB i am working with, but for the sake of a recommendation, lets just say its pretty high.

what are the problems i would have if the recorder i buy will only record up to 100db and the sound is at 120db... will it just not produce the sound or will it get distorted?

i dont really have a budget, however i dont want to spend a lot of money on something i am probably only going to use a handful of times...
if i was to buy something in the 400-600 range, would i get my money back selling it second hand?

Thanks,

Dave

Offline keebs

• Taperssection Newbie
Re: What portable recorder for very loud noise
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2012, 04:22:59 PM »
Hi Dave and all,