Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Mic Advice  (Read 8393 times)

Offline inabsentia

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Mic Advice
« on: November 15, 2008, 08:06:16 AM »
Hi folks.. first post on here, so please be gentle!!

I'm based in the UK and I've been recording gigs for about 4/5 years . Up to now I've been using a Sony Hi - MD (generally in Hi-SP mode) but I've just got hold of a Zoom H2 so I can record full  sets in wav format without disc swapping. I record using line in with a battery box and something pretty much identical to these mics -

http://cgi.ebay.com/STEREO-Y-MICROPHONE-PANASONIC-MICS-REC-LIVE-CONCERTS_W0QQitemZ120333040044QQcmdZViewItemQQptZPortable_MiniDisc_Players?hash=item120333040044&_trksid=p3911.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1205%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

I'm recording loud hard rock/metal shows usually and I get pretty good results too. I share plenty of my recordings and get lots of good comments about the SQ of my recordings.

My question is this-I know there are lots of other factors involved and words like  'Quality'  or 'Better' are very subjective but if I went for, say, a pair of the CA11's I've read/heard so much about would there be any real improvement in the recording 'Quality' to justify (More to the missus, not myself!!) spending money on a new set of mics?  I hear recordings made with them at similar types of shows to the ones I go to that sound fabulous, but not really any 'better' than I seem to be turning out.

Many thanks

Offline Church-Audio

• Trade Count: (44)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Mic Advice
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2008, 02:33:32 PM »
Hi folks.. first post on here, so please be gentle!!