Taperssection.com

Gear / Technical Help => Battery Boxes, Preamps, Mixers, ADCs, and Processors => Topic started by: TheMetalist on October 28, 2016, 03:55:42 PM

Title: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: TheMetalist on October 28, 2016, 03:55:42 PM
Today I received my new gear from Nick, Nbob actives for AKG CK6x capsules and...

The new version of Nbox Platinum with a nice and sturdy plastic case.

Hopefully it will pass through (maybe not the most effective but some) metal detectors. This is definately longed for by some stealth tapers (including myself).  :coolguy:

(http://i.imgur.com/lAAYvav.jpg)

(http://i.imgur.com/eAkdyuF.jpg)

(http://i.imgur.com/O8yEOVv.jpg)
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: robeti on October 29, 2016, 10:34:44 AM
Looks great!
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: dactylus on October 30, 2016, 11:23:33 AM
Looking good!  Are the dimensions of the new ABS plastic Nbox identical to the metal Nbox dimensions?

Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: TheMetalist on October 30, 2016, 01:01:27 PM
Looking good!  Are the dimensions of the new ABS plastic Nbox identical to the metal Nbox dimensions?


I don't have the regular Platinum but Nick said the dimensions are the same. Looking at the components inside the case I don't think it's possible to shrink the size without removing some components.

Here's the size of the ABS:
4.7x3.5x1.4 in (12x9x3,5 cm)
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: dactylus on October 30, 2016, 01:56:45 PM
^
Thank you!
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: larrysellers on October 30, 2016, 02:00:57 PM
Cool stuff indeed. I still prefer the metal case for walking to my car from the venue in a shitty neighborhood at night. Getting hit in the head with the original (full of 9v batteries) will quickly change the priorities of any assailant.
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: tim in jersey on October 30, 2016, 05:00:39 PM
The grey Kangol will prevent such attacks, my friend. They'll be laughing too hard...  :lol:
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: larrysellers on October 30, 2016, 05:09:12 PM
Touché
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: edtyre on October 30, 2016, 07:24:59 PM
The grey Kangol will prevent such attacks, my friend. They'll be laughing too hard...  :lol:
:lol: :lol: :lol:
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: swordfish on November 02, 2016, 12:40:15 PM
I thought I have seen a picture of the new Baby Nbox but I can't find it with the search function....If I am recalling it correct Edtyre posted the picture...
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: larrysellers on November 02, 2016, 12:42:26 PM
I thought I have seen a picture of the new Baby Nbox but I can't find it with the search function....If I am recalling it correct Edtyre posted the picture...

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=168809.msg2203684#msg2203684
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: swordfish on November 03, 2016, 04:47:05 AM
I thought I have seen a picture of the new Baby Nbox but I can't find it with the search function....If I am recalling it correct Edtyre posted the picture...

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=168809.msg2203684#msg2203684
Thanks
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: DavidPuddy on January 17, 2020, 10:41:34 AM
Didn't want to start a new thread for this question.

Should I expect any issue bringing my baby nbox through security at the airport? I'm not sure that I can demonstrate how it works as there are no outward signs of operation.
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: jerryfreak on January 17, 2020, 11:35:26 AM
The grey Kangol will prevent such attacks, my friend. They'll be laughing too hard...  :lol:
im picturing a ‘pimp of the year’ scene
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: daspyknows on January 17, 2020, 11:37:13 AM
Didn't want to start a new thread for this question.

Should I expect any issue bringing my baby nbox through security at the airport? I'm not sure that I can demonstrate how it works as there are no outward signs of operation.

Never have.  Bring mics, recorder and headphones if you have any concerns.  I have carried mine through SFO, LAX, JFK, McCarron in LV, Logan in Boston, Heathrow in London and never gotten a second look.  My old RBox on the other hand caught their eye every time.
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: Craig T on January 17, 2020, 11:41:06 AM
Didn't want to start a new thread for this question.

Should I expect any issue bringing my baby nbox through security at the airport? I'm not sure that I can demonstrate how it works as there are no outward signs of operation.

I've never had a problem, but they may pull it aside and swab it.
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: ero3030 on January 17, 2020, 01:10:56 PM
 8)we'd
Didn't want to start a new thread for this question.

Should I expect any issue bringing my baby nbox through security at the airport? I'm not sure that I can demonstrate how it works as there are no outward signs of operation.

I've never had a problem, but they may pull it aside and swab it.
Yep, always give mine a swab.  And me too as I look shady!!
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: guitard on November 17, 2021, 10:39:13 AM
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: beatkilla on November 17, 2021, 06:57:44 PM
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.



Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?


Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: daspyknows on November 17, 2021, 08:56:28 PM
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.



Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?

+1
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: guitard on November 18, 2021, 09:29:37 AM
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.

Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?

Well fuck me!!

I've always had it set as audio in; so for (at least) the last several months, that's been my de facto default setting at start up.  So I haven't been going into the menu and checking that setting ... until just now.  And as you suspected - it was set on mic in.

Many thanks for the tip!  I have a show tonight that I most definitely will be recording with audio in 8).

Edit to add:  in spite of that fuck up, I did still manage to get a very nice recording.  Probably mostly due to my rig.
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: tim in jersey on November 18, 2021, 10:33:32 AM
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.

Did the opposite recently. Plugged my baby-N into line in on M-10 instead of mic in. Low levels but still a nice recording...

Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?

Well fuck me!!

I've always had it set as audio in; so for (at least) the last several months, that's been my de facto default setting at start up.  So I haven't been going into the menu and checking that setting ... until just now.  And as you suspected - it was set on mic in.

Many thanks for the tip!  I have a show tonight that I most definitely will be recording with audio in 8).

Edit to add:  in spite of that fuck up, I did still manage to get a very nice recording.  Probably mostly due to my rig.
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: willndmb on November 18, 2021, 11:00:50 AM
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.



Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?
for the win, same thing happened to me this year.
Luck fellow taper Greg saved me.

Anyway, lots of early posts about passing a metal detector and hopes it would.
Has anyone tried and confirm experiences?
With more and more venues here going to walk through, followed by wand curious what will and will not pass.
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: guitard on November 18, 2021, 12:01:01 PM
Anyway, lots of early posts about passing a metal detector and hopes it would.
Has anyone tried and confirm experiences?
With more and more venues here going to walk through, followed by wand curious what will and will not pass.

I responded via PM.
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: DavidPuddy on November 18, 2021, 01:54:57 PM
With the baby nbox, I've always gone audio in on A-10 for lo-pro. Mic in from the section, of course
Title: Re: The new Nbox: Platinum ABS
Post by: daspyknows on November 18, 2021, 03:19:45 PM
Went to a heavy metal show last night planning to record with Schoeps MK41s > Nbox Platinum > A10.  Normally, my baseline input level on the A10 is 4 when I record with the Platinum Nbox.  That was way too high though; so I started turning it down.  But even with the input on the A10 set at 1, the audio was clipping.  I noticed this during the opening band.  For the main act (the band I really wanted to record), I switched over to the Baby Nbox and set the input at 3, and got a nice pull.  Normally, I start off with an input level of 12 when using the Baby Nbox.  Also worth noting - I was probably 15 meters or so from the stacks, so I don't think proximity to the stacks was why the A10 was overloading when I was running my mics through the Platinum Nbox.

Are you sure the A10 was set for AUDIO IN and not accidentally MIC IN?


We are all making mistakes after being on the bench for ages.  Hopefully you solved this one.
Well fuck me!!

I've always had it set as audio in; so for (at least) the last several months, that's been my de facto default setting at start up.  So I haven't been going into the menu and checking that setting ... until just now.  And as you suspected - it was set on mic in.

Many thanks for the tip!  I have a show tonight that I most definitely will be recording with audio in 8).

Edit to add:  in spite of that fuck up, I did still manage to get a very nice recording.  Probably mostly due to my rig.