Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sony WM-D3 Anolog Recorder Question  (Read 3138 times)

Offline wh0snext

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Sony WM-D3 Anolog Recorder Question
« on: March 20, 2008, 02:18:32 PM »
Hello,

I have been using a Sony WM-D3 recorder for about 10 years. I really like the sound, portability and size of the unit. I am however having problems with it now and am not sure what's wrong. My last 2 recordings have been ruined because the recording is coming out distorted and sounding like it is under water. When I experiment at home I find that if I tap on the recorder it corrects the problem for a time but it will go back to distortion mode after a few minutes. I am guessing that the heads are out of wack but am looking to see if any one else has had this problem and how did you get it fixed. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks, Ric

Depechemode1993

Re: Sony WM-D3 Anolog Recorder Question
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2008, 03:56:01 PM »
your heads might be misaligned or they are dirty. have  you used a cleaning tape? If not I would try and see if you can get it serviced somewhere like Pro Digital. A yearly checkup isn't bad.

Offline Belexes

• Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2008, 04:06:02 PM »
If you are unable to fix it with cleaning the heads, demagnetizing, etc you might want to just pick one up on Ebay.  May be able to get this one cheap:

http://cgi.ebay.com/SONY-WALKMAN-PROFESSIONAL-RECORDING-WM-D3-Recorder_W0QQitemZ290215124820QQihZ019QQcategoryZ15053QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
Busman Audio BSC1-K1/K2/K3/K4 > HiHo Silver XLR's > Deck TBD

CA-14 (c,o)/MM-HLSC-1 (4.7k mod)/AT853(4.7k mod)(c,o,h,sc)/CAFS (o)/CA-1 (o) > CA-9100 (V. 4.1)/CA-9200/CA-UBB > Sony PCM-D50/Sony PCM-M10

Offline wh0snext

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2008, 04:11:04 PM »