Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: DPA d:VICE just announced  (Read 117963 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline checht

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 493
  • Gender: Male
  • Old and in the Way
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #510 on: February 08, 2022, 05:37:29 PM »
On a separate issue, I cannot seem to get the Motiv app to recognize the stereo signal, it automatically sets to mono.

Won't do stereo unless one of their mics is involved. Apogee app is a good option imo.
Schoeps MK41s > nbob KCY >
Naiant PFA 60v > Sound Devices MP-6 II  or  Naiant IPA > Roland R-07
Vanguard V1s matched pair
Recordings at LMA

Offline audBall

  • Trade Count: (37)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 6354
  • Gender: Male
  • Feel brand new about it
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #511 on: February 08, 2022, 06:01:03 PM »
Won't do stereo unless one of their mics is involved. Apogee app is a good option imo.

Ahh, that's what I figured. Thanks for the rec.
mg m20.21 ■ akg ck61.62.63 » nbob » aercomp2 ■ v2
dpa 4061 » mma-a
m10 ■ d100 ■ r44ocm

Offline audBall

  • Trade Count: (37)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 6354
  • Gender: Male
  • Feel brand new about it
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #512 on: February 08, 2022, 06:20:32 PM »
Just installed Apogee Metarecorder for a quick test. As before, setup connectivity with the DPA app, confirmed stereo signal in Metarecorder, recorded a few seconds and then placed the phone on the mag charger. The microphones stayed connected and recording continued. No audible artifacts on the initial playback (no WAV analysis).
mg m20.21 ■ akg ck61.62.63 » nbob » aercomp2 ■ v2
dpa 4061 » mma-a
m10 ■ d100 ■ r44ocm

Offline WiFiJeff

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 935
  • Gender: Male
  • I tape therefore I am.
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #513 on: February 08, 2022, 10:43:16 PM »
Thanks for checking this out.  I expect in a couple of weeks to get an Indiegogo project "Pixi Go" battery/wireless phone charger and will look at the files generated in iZotope then.  This would remove the limit on recording time from an aging iPhone battery, for a newer phone it would extend the time well beyond even my extreme worry demands.

Offline detroit lightning

  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 697
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #514 on: March 04, 2022, 10:22:33 PM »
Finally have some shows on the horizon after a very light couple of years...excited to dust the gear off!

I have a few  >:D questions...if anyone is game, let me know and I'll DM you (or just DM me).

Thx!

Offline madman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 158
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #515 on: April 30, 2022, 05:38:43 PM »
Last night I taped my first show using the d:vice and Metarecorder. First 2 sets aka "Scenes" as Metarecorder calls them came out just fine. When checking levels during the final band the real-time level meter was functioning, but nothing was showing in the bigger window that shows the actual recording. Cut to just now when I'm listening to the .wav and it's all messed up. Some odd parts that seem to skip/repeat, other parts the low level just goes out and there are little very short blank spaces you can see when viewing the file in Audacity. I used my iphone in airplane mode and closed a bunch of apps before the show. Clearly something had gone awry with the app.

Are issues like this why people stick to a dedicated ipod touch (which I have)? I'm pretty bummed, but it was the first time with this new setup, I had used minidisc for years.

Offline morst

  • Trade Unionist
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5104
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #516 on: April 30, 2022, 05:46:15 PM »
I don't know about this particular app, but I wonder if you are playing it back from the app, or if you've transferred the file to another machine, and the resultant file plays back with obvious errors?
Is the problem with the file or the app?
If the app can't play a good file, then at least you have a good file??!!

Offline madman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 158
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #517 on: April 30, 2022, 05:58:15 PM »
Yep, I should've mentioned that. It plays back incorrectly in Metarecorder from the phone as well, so it wasn't a bad transfer from the phone to computer. Same errors in the same spots on Metarecorder and Audacity. It's odd because the first 2 sets are totally fine, it seems like a problem writing the file during recording. I knew something was up when the recording display wasn't working, but what can ya do I guess. I suppose I will use my barebones ipod next time and just accept this as a lesson learned.

Offline madman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 158
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #518 on: May 02, 2022, 07:28:38 PM »
I sent an email to Apogee, but I realize this sort of thing is probably impossible to find a root cause of unless it is repeatable. I will probably just use my stripped down ipod touch with no other active apps running in the future.

Offline Clem Cheesy

  • C'era Una Volta...
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 14577
  • Gender: Male
  • Waiting for the next cladogenetic event, or Godot
    • Oceana North America
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #519 on: June 04, 2022, 08:44:12 PM »
What happens when phone gets email, text, or inbound call ?

That said, iPod Touch has been declared End of Life
Apple is selling out stock and making no more
I presume iphones use much of the same parts and bring them more profit
Add this to the list of "supply chain" losses....
"Peace is for everyone"
        - Norah Jones

"Music is the drug that won't kill you"
         - Fran Lebowitz

Offline DavidPuddy

  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1423
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #520 on: June 23, 2022, 09:53:43 PM »
Does anyone use a splitter to charge and record at the same time? I just tried the Belkin Lightning to 2x Lightning adapter and it doesn't pass audio.

Offline Clem Cheesy

  • C'era Una Volta...
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 14577
  • Gender: Male
  • Waiting for the next cladogenetic event, or Godot
    • Oceana North America
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #521 on: June 23, 2022, 10:40:58 PM »
Does anyone use a splitter to charge and record at the same time? I just tried the Belkin Lightning to 2x Lightning adapter and it doesn't pass audio.

Silly question... but is that true for both or just one socket port?
"Peace is for everyone"
        - Norah Jones

"Music is the drug that won't kill you"
         - Fran Lebowitz

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.049 seconds with 35 queries.
© 2002-2022 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF