Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: JB3 as lappie backup  (Read 3722 times)

Offline The Kilted Taper

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Real men wear kilts.
JB3 as lappie backup
« on: March 31, 2005, 10:28:14 AM »
Just want to clarify something before I head out and tape tonight. I wanted to attempt my first pull with a lappie tonight. As it is my first try, I wanted to make sure I still got a usable copy. My rig is Nak 300's > WMod UA5. I was going to run at 24/48 as I've read that the 96 is not reliable at all times. Can I also send this signal to the JB3 via optical and get a listenable product? I know it cuts out the last 8 bits, but the FAQ states that a 96signal is just a big no no. And I'd prefer to send the JB3 a digital signal, but I could always send an analog signal just to make sure I got something.
"The guy who's been dissed, dismissed and demoted so often that he should have officially changed his first name to "Backup." "

Offline Scooter

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection All-Star
Re: JB3 as lappie backup
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2005, 11:03:45 AM »
When i was first starting w/ my laptop i wanted to do the same thing.  I ended up going analog out to JB3, just cause of the truncation thing.  But i have given a patch out to a JB3 while sending a 24/48 sig to my laptop, and the guy said it worked out fine.  Obviously it was truncated to 16b...
MBHO 603a(ka200n/ka500hn) >
R-44, or H120

LMA Recordings

Offline The Kilted Taper

• Real men wear kilts.
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2005, 11:09:25 AM »
Yeah, the more I think about it, I may just play it safe and send the analog signal from the RCA's to the JB3.

"The guy who's been dissed, dismissed and demoted so often that he should have officially changed his first name to "Backup." "

Offline Brian Skalinder

• Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2005, 01:13:18 PM »